random object placement

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
This is a single chapter from the "Construct Starter Kit Collection". It is the Student Workbook for its Workshop.
  • Hi I am rather new to Construct and I wish to know how to make it so it creates explosions every 3 seconds at random between 1024 x 768 (the screen size, plus the scrolling so it follows the screen) is this possible to do and how?

thanks in advance.

• + Every 3000 milliseconds
    + System: Create object explosionSprite
        -> explosionSprite: Set X to random(1024)
        -> explosionSprite: Set Y to random(768)
    [/code:fgbsn79e]

Don't know what you mean about making it scroll, though.  Objects scroll along with the screen automatically.
  • > + Every 3000 milliseconds
    + System: Create object explosionSprite
        -> explosionSprite: Set X to random(1024)
        -> explosionSprite: Set Y to random(768)
    [/code:3mcagpfl]

Don't know what you mean about making it scroll, though.  Objects scroll along with the screen automatically.

I'm thinking he wants the explosions on screen locked to the scrolling and to continue on as the play area scrolls (like flying through AA flak during the war, explosions all around you). In which case Aquadragon, just do what deadeye said, but change the random size to take into account your entire play area. But remember you'll have to increase the speed or you wont see them as often. That and maybe copy the action a couple of times (looks pretty good with lots on screen at once, just needs some smoking trails on missiles and it'll be like BSG!).

Example

Download Cap

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • An alternate (and, in my opinion, better) method to have them occur within the bounds of the current screen is to use...

+ System: Every 3000 milliseconds