Random wait seconds glitch

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:54 am

Is it possible to take a new timestamp on the start of a layout? That would seem to fix the problem.
B
7
S
2
Posts: 75
Reputation: 1,100

Post » Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:39 pm

This is not hard to fix. Just create a global variable to block the "every x seconds" logic until the game actually starts.
Jack of all trades, and master of some.
B
29
S
9
G
7
Posts: 174
Reputation: 7,601

Post » Mon Apr 22, 2013 1:53 am

@JoyFulDreamer I wish it was that easy, but I have tried that by activating a group containing the powerups on the start of the layout, all that does is delay the spam of powerups by a tiny amount.
B
7
S
2
Posts: 75
Reputation: 1,100

Post » Mon Apr 22, 2013 2:10 am

Ended up making the power up only fall if there was not another one in existence. I still get all the powerups falling on the start of the level but only one of each, and I really want to launch my game so I'll call it a 'Head Start'.
B
7
S
2
Posts: 75
Reputation: 1,100

Post » Mon Apr 22, 2013 2:45 am

Surely all you need to do is add another condition to your "drop" event?

player is on screen, lives =x, object is on layer Y, ect ect.
As long as I can move left, right and fire, I'm Happy...
B
42
S
15
G
11
Posts: 655
Reputation: 12,260

Post » Mon Apr 22, 2013 4:16 am

That's what I thought, but it seems no matter what I do that "Every random seconds" triggers as soon as it activates, the countdown starts when the application does so it must be attached to a timestamp.
B
7
S
2
Posts: 75
Reputation: 1,100

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: WhosWho and 5 guests