Raycasting

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:38 pm

I've seen a little on this topic but everyone seems to be under the impression that a 3-D game like Doom would take a whole lot of coding. But I sorta dug into this and found This Site. The code doesn't look all that complicated, and with decent textures and the use of the additional plugins for C2 could look and function far better than a Doom or Wolfenstein game.
Unfortunately I have no experience with js plug-ins but I suspect those who do may find it useful to tinker with.

Who knows.droptank212011-10-04 19:12:17
B
22
S
9
G
3
Posts: 203
Reputation: 3,647

Post » Mon Oct 10, 2011 3:51 am

No?
B
22
S
9
G
3
Posts: 203
Reputation: 3,647

Post » Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:50 am

We're designing Construct 2 as a 2D game development tool. While some 3D features are possible, we're not aiming to add any 3D features to Construct 2.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Tue Oct 11, 2011 2:24 am

I've seen raycasting games being created on MMF2 and they look pretty good

If they can why can't we?
I mean :P looks simple enough. It's not even real 3D, its like and advanced Mode7. But I understand if you guys doesn't want to implement 3D into construct, but a plugin for that would be awesome
B
83
S
21
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,134

Post » Tue Oct 11, 2011 1:20 pm

While raycasting is kind of cool, I don't think I've ever seen a completed game using it. It seems to be an experiment people like to play with, then they give up after a while... unless I'm wrong and there are some popular raycasting games out there I don't know about? :P
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:04 am

Well we can make Mode7 type racing game if there's raycasting. That's pretty cool
B
17
S
3
G
3
Posts: 109
Reputation: 2,747

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:51 am

I've heard that the boys over at google ported Quake 2 to HTML5. I've only seen videos of it though.
B
22
S
9
G
3
Posts: 203
Reputation: 3,647

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:29 am

As far as I know quake 2 html5 still using webGL. So the user will still need a plugin on their browser. CMIIW
B
17
S
3
G
3
Posts: 109
Reputation: 2,747

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:40 am

WebGL is part of the HTML5 standard and does not use any browser plugins. However, IE doesn't support it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:55 am

I agree that adding a feature like this, plug-in or official, would be extremely awesome. There's a small part of my 2D game I wanted to do using a similar technique back when I was still working with CC, but C2 doesn't have that quite yet.
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Artpunk and 11 guests