Really Destroyed?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Nov 23, 2012 12:59 pm

Is there a way to see what's happening outside the layout at runtime? I've put "destroy outside layout" behaviours on my particles. Do I just trust that it's working?kenhes2012-11-23 13:06:17
B
19
S
3
G
2
Posts: 212
Reputation: 4,011

Post » Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:03 pm

You can create a text object and on every tick you can assign object.Count to the text to see if you're properly destroying objects.
B
12
S
4
G
2
Posts: 59
Reputation: 3,739

Post » Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:13 pm

Well, rest assure that it is really destroyed!

Or, you can set your project configuration setting to either scale, or crop. then as long as your preview browser is bigger than your project window, you can see what happens outside the layout.

Or you just put in an audio file, and set play it once object is destroy, so you can hear those sounds and know that the object has destroyed.
B
12
S
4
G
4
Posts: 64
Reputation: 4,014

Post » Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:24 pm

Keep in mind that a particle system only counts as outside the layout if all the particles are outside not just the particle system origin.
B
12
S
4
G
2
Posts: 59
Reputation: 3,739

Post » Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:32 pm

All good ideas! I'll try them in a bit. Thanks!

Just a clarification needed now...I have a bullet object that is spewing out hundreds of "images" per second. Are each of those images destroyed as soon as they go outside the layout? Or does the origin need to be outside before they get destroyed?

B
19
S
3
G
2
Posts: 212
Reputation: 4,011

Post » Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:36 pm

The particles have their own "Destroy mode". You can find it at the bottom of the particle system properties.
B
12
S
4
G
2
Posts: 59
Reputation: 3,739

Post » Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:38 pm

@kenhes

The origin of the particle will have to be outside the layout for it to be destroyed.
B
12
S
4
G
4
Posts: 64
Reputation: 4,014

Post » Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:01 pm

Is there a destroy event for "bullet particles"? I couldn't use real particles because I needed multi frames.

So, at the moment, all those images are falling out of layout and using resources until I destroy the object.

Edit
OK. I think I have a way to trigger a destroy before too many resources get used. It's a workaround but will do the job. Thanks for the help guys!
B
19
S
3
G
2
Posts: 212
Reputation: 4,011

Post » Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:10 pm

For sprites, just add the Behavior "Destroy outside layout".
B
12
S
4
G
2
Posts: 59
Reputation: 3,739


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 99Instances2Go, abdalghani, Ethan, Marxally, Naightwolf and 25 guests