record audio

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
100+ Musical High Quality Sound Effects for your game!
  • I'm developing instruments in Construct, and I need a way to record the audio output of my application - within the application itself

I'd like to be able to use the 'save dialogue' to show where to save the file.

Any ideas?

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • anyone know?

Someone posted a python script for it in another thread, but I couldn't understand how it worked (I'm not a programmer myself)

If anyone knows how to do it with script, please also explain how to implement the script.

Many thanks!

• anyone know?

Someone posted a python script for it in another thread, but I couldn't understand how it worked (I'm not a programmer myself)

If anyone knows how to do it with script, please also explain how to implement the script.

Many thanks!

Hi Birdlantern.. and Chrisrobs previously. I haven't forgotten about this. I tested out the Python code in Construct yesterday and it worked slightly differently than I remember. Instead of recording sound from the PC (internal Audio) it instead recorded from the Mic. This is kinda cool if you are doing a voice recorder program and you might want that feature, but it doesn't do what you wanted.

So I did some searching and found a workaround. You can spawn a program with Construct/Python that creates a virtual bridge between your internal audio device and an external input device so you can record from it using Python like I showed. I'll tinker with it some more this weekend, but I think it will work. After I get that working I'll see if there is not 100% programmatic approach.

• thanks, I think that's what I'm after...