Record game into Video..??

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:47 am

That's... well, extraordinarily difficult, to say the least. It's not really something a beginner should tackle right from the get-go. I plan to try it one day for my own game, and I'm not even sure if I can do it after two years of using C2 and Classic.
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 5:32 am

If there were a way to emulate sending key and mouse events, this would actually be fairly straightforward. You would only have to capture what key was pressed or released (or the mouse event), and the time between events.

But... since there isn't (at least that I'm aware of), there is a lot of information you have to capture to playback recorded events. The amount you need to capture is dependent on how much AI is built into the game. If all the objects (except the player of course) follow a set pattern, or simple rules, you only need to track player states and let everything else behave as normal.

You would want to figure out a keyframe system for playback, setting the player states as necessary.

Naturally, as game complexity increases, so would this method.ckelley2012-09-11 05:34:09
B
3
G
1
Posts: 1
Reputation: 777

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:15 am

You can emulate key presses with the "simulate control" action for the platform and 8direction behaviors. For general simulating mouse and keyboard controls I would set some state variables for each control and use the variables in my events instead of the mouse or keyboard conditions. Then simulating a control would be as simple as setting a variable.

I don't think simulating the controls would give an exact replay unless the game ran at the exact same framerate the whole time.

If you want just a visual playback then the game state is unimportant. You just need to save the position,angle,size,opacity or anything that can change visually for each object on screen every frame.

@hoanganh17 you say it's for game testing, could you give an example where it would be useful for testing?
B
79
S
24
G
55
Posts: 4,755
Reputation: 41,273

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:55 pm

@R0J0hound, I got projects, fighting and gambling, I got record from customers about some case really hard to reproduced.
For mutual interactions, I am using Websocket with JSON to send appropriated command from someone to other. Actually, some of actions and behaviors really differ from ideal draft.
After that. I did try to save actions into Xml via my plugin to try to reproduce users action but not have optimal records because of time, tick...etc is differ from actual user actions.
So it's reason I am looking for best way to record actions with exact time between each of them.
I hope you could understand me...:D
B
11
S
2
Posts: 73
Reputation: 1,438

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ETgirl79 and 17 guests