Releasing to multiple platforms

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:05 pm

Anyone have experience releasing to multiple platforms on a single project?

is there anything I should anticipate if I aim to do so?

Am I likely to require a separate project for each?

Iphone
Android
Windows?
B
10
S
2
G
1
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1,278

Post » Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:15 am

will you just use your mouse in Windows if its for your game
would make it easier
B
33
S
6
G
2
Posts: 241
Reputation: 3,011

Post » Sat Aug 10, 2013 10:37 am

Yes, so far i've only tested on my mobile device (S3), will have access to iphone.
B
10
S
2
G
1
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1,278

Post » Sat Aug 10, 2013 10:41 am

Use touch rather than mouse. Be aware that hi res graphics will kill compatibility with old devices like ipad1 ipod touch etc

be ware that various devices have different aspect ratios, make your layout large enough to accommodate different widths
B
37
S
9
G
5
Posts: 437
Reputation: 6,094

Post » Sat Aug 10, 2013 2:07 pm

Yeah, currently the vast majority of our artwork is done as SVG so exporting the artwork(at a higher res) then replacing the images.

Are there frequently different or unified bugs(CocoonJS) with exporting to iphone/android?

I'm Concerned about having change masses of events to export to different platforms and changing how the game works and ending up with 2/3 different games to keep updated
B
10
S
2
G
1
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1,278

Post » Sat Aug 10, 2013 8:22 pm

If your app doesn't use too much artwork then you probably only need one version to cover all devices. In my case it looks like I will need to reduce texture memory considerably in order to get it to work on older idevices.
B
37
S
9
G
5
Posts: 437
Reputation: 6,094

Post » Sun Aug 11, 2013 8:39 pm

I finally got my app working on ipad 1 and ipod touch - ouch! 3-5 FPS no go. Ipad 2 about 28 FPS.
B
37
S
9
G
5
Posts: 437
Reputation: 6,094

Post » Sun Aug 11, 2013 9:33 pm

Haha yeah. Wont be worth the negative votes on the store. Im going to have to start performance testing mine soon. Going to to have to borrow a few devices (using my s3 isnt really accurate for the average device).
B
10
S
2
G
1
Posts: 77
Reputation: 1,278


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests