Removing jQuery - feedback

For developers using the Construct 2 Javascript SDK

Post » Tue Dec 11, 2012 8:54 pm

I only use jQuery to detect mouse/keyboard input. I imagine that would be easy enough to replace, but I would need some assistance in learning how to do that.
Don't see the fnords and they won't eat you!
B
79
S
17
G
12
Posts: 323
Reputation: 11,850

Post » Tue Dec 11, 2012 9:03 pm

Yes mine uses jQuery, specially iScroll which uses it a lot...
Passionate developer

If my work helped you to make your project, please consider making a donation :)
B
44
S
12
G
14
Posts: 631
Reputation: 10,987

Post » Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:39 pm

Couldn't you have an option to export the game with/without jquery?
B
124
S
43
G
41
Posts: 849
Reputation: 28,235

Post » Thu Dec 13, 2012 2:14 pm

Hmm... I think removing jQuery could cause more problems than it solves for the time being, so I think I'll postpone this for the forseeable future. Might come back to this in future though, so it might be worth bearing in mind if you can do something without jQuery it's probably better.
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,418
Reputation: 194,540

Post » Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:49 pm

@Ashley, why not deprecate jQuery officially then? Maybe it could throw a console message or display a warning in the loading screen when in preview mode?
B
36
S
8
G
8
Posts: 532
Reputation: 6,903

Post » Fri Dec 14, 2012 12:02 am

@Fimbul - it's less work to keep supporting it so I don't need to change any of our own code :)
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,418
Reputation: 194,540

Post » Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:31 am

[QUOTE=Ashley] Hmm... I think removing jQuery could cause more problems than it solves for the time being, so I think I'll postpone this for the forseeable future...[/QUOTE]
Thanks, @Ashley. I'm not unhappy with your decision.

Maybe in the future you could consider replacing jQuery with VanillaJS.
B
107
S
21
G
14
Posts: 549
Reputation: 21,050

Post » Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:59 pm

[QUOTE=Velojet] [QUOTE=Ashley] Hmm... I think removing jQuery could cause more problems than it solves for the time being, so I think I'll postpone this for the forseeable future...[/QUOTE]
Thanks, @Ashley. I'm not unhappy with your decision.

Maybe in the future you could consider replacing jQuery with VanillaJS.[/QUOTE]

It looks like another pure javascript framework... for speed
B
99
S
35
G
29
Posts: 3,139
Reputation: 28,421

Post » Mon Dec 24, 2012 9:50 am

I think my Ajax Plugin will not work without , I made my own plugin to work with Routes and Json and Im not sure how doing that without jQuery..
B
15
S
6
G
6
Posts: 512
Reputation: 5,555

Previous

Return to Javascript SDK

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ST314 and 1 guest