Repeated Steam instability

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:07 am

Dig through the forums and you'll find quite a few threads (many resolved bug threads) where users on Steam are unable to get Construct 2 to start up. Usually, a new update or switching from the stable release to the beta or vice versa will fix the problem. But given how often these issues are cropping up, it seems to me there must be a core problem that's going unresolved. Scirra has said it's an issue with the Steam launcher, and that's likely, since I gather these problems don't happen in the release downloaded from Scirra. But it seems to me it's in everyone's interest (Steam, Scirra, the users) to get something like this fixed.

I suppose maybe I'm just frustrated and trying to vent, or maybe hoping that bringing it up more generally will get someone to take it seriously, but I also want to know who else has experienced this problem and if it's as common as it seems. If you work on Steam--especially if you use it regularly and update with every beta version--have you ever had a problem getting the application to start?
B
3
G
2
Posts: 12
Reputation: 699

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 7:24 am

All the time. In fact steam version is a nightmare and I stand by the fact that C2 should never have been put onto steam. Scirra needs to address this, or at least offer an option for steam users to migrate to standard version. I mean we've paid for a inferior user experience.
Point being we've paid!
I've had it crash for the last couple hours - so I am extremely grumpy at the moment - I'm sure after a gym, I'll feel better about it all.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:01 am

I don't know if it's due to Steam or not, but I have the Steam version too and have a lot of stability problems, Construct just freezes, sometimes for a minute or so and finally become responsive again, but sometimes it just freezes permanently. It does not depend on the weight of the project, as it sometimes does it on an empty project. At first I thought it was just my computer being slow and needing a clean re-install, but it happened on my brand new laptop too, which has almost nothing installed on.

So yeah, if it has something to do with it running on steam, I'd like to be able to transfer my license to a non steam version
B
12
S
5
G
2
Posts: 132
Reputation: 2,627

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:05 pm

The standalone version and Steam version are almost identical. The only major change is instead of reading a license file it simply asks Steam whether it's been purchased or not. This code is trivial. It's hard to imagine it's our code going wrong, which means it's probably something Valve need to fix. In that case I think it's best if users go directly to Valve with their bug reports - there's not much we can do except be a middle layer that gets in the way.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 2:36 pm

[QUOTE=Ashley] There's not much we can do except be a middle layer that gets in the way [/QUOTE]
@Ashley, Umm?, actually its the other way round, they are the middle layer (they sell games, and a few applications. The software comes from you. We are the client, you are the developer and they are the salesman.

[QUOTE=Ashley] The only major change is instead of reading a license file it simply asks Steam whether it's been purchased or not. This code is trivial. [/QUOTE]

Yes, I know, and that is why I say C2 doesn't play well with steam.

There are tons of forum posts highlighting that steam version (albeit the same as standard version) just doesn't function like standard version. This is a fact.

QUOTE: probably something Valve need to fix
I'm not going to answer this except to say that if there are issues, then developer needs to sort it out or work with valve/steam to resolve issues.

They are a layer over the original software. Sure the layer could be broke, eitherway it is ludicrous to ask paying customers to sort it out when the majority don't speak geek.

Its your baby, your software, we are the clients, you the developer and Steam the middle man.

Just Re-read your answer, and tell me you wouldn't be semi annoyed by that your response.

I've used the non steam version and boy is a different experience. Had I known how much different, I would never have purchased from steam. DUTOIT2013-10-02 14:51:28
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:30 pm

Well, if the problem is with Steam, then telling us so we can tell Valve who then make a suggestion which we then pass back on to you (and then back and forth similarly), is just inefficient. If you go directly to Valve, it should be quicker to resolve.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Wed Oct 02, 2013 8:06 pm

I will contact Steam tech support. However, I would say there's a good chance that Scirra would be the best party to contact them for a couple reasons:

1) As trivial as the code difference may be, Scirra can at least explain to Valve the architecture of the application to help find the conflict.

2) I am one of millions of users that purchases from Steam; Scirra is one of hundreds of product providers that licenses their product for Steam. I'm sure they want to keep both of us happy, but I bet they're most likely to listen to a developer.

3) Ashley's response above assumes that the solution is going to be a change that we as users have to make. That's very possible. But perhaps it's a change Valve needs to make. Perhaps (as unlikely as it seems, given the code similarities between the two versions) it's a change Scirra needs to make. In the latter two cases, I am the middle layer getting in the way.

Just my thoughts. I'll report back if Valve responds.
B
3
G
2
Posts: 12
Reputation: 699

Post » Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:28 am

@Ashley,

Steam says I must contact you to resolve the issue.

They pointed me to this as well...

"You will need to contact the game's developer/publisher directly for support if you encounter any errors or unexpected behavior which is not related to Steam authentication or CD Keys after the game has loaded."

Basically, they saying that once steam as authenticated the software and it has loaded, any issues thereafter are for you the developer.

"Game crashes or errors after the game has been launched (that do not appear in a Steam dialog box)" According to them, is not their problemDUTOIT2013-10-07 07:31:08
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Mon Oct 07, 2013 11:16 am

Well, I've tried to get in touch with Steam. I'll keep you posted on the issue.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Mon Oct 07, 2013 11:32 am

Thank you
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests