Report Bug that has no CAPX??

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:58 pm

Interesting, I read once (many versions ago) that Construct had issues with laptops going to sleep, I wonder if the graphic card switch is similar.

Edit: Possibly scratch that, I can't find that thread anywhere. I thought it was Ashley saying it, but I can only find messages where his machine worked, and to try updating display drivers.Paradox2013-08-05 21:08:22
B
233
S
62
G
33
Posts: 902
Reputation: 40,398

Post » Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:26 am

The requirement of updated video drivers and the fact that my laptop technically runs two different drivers (this one has an Intel HD 3000 for low power and ATI Radeon HD 6770 for performance) makes me think its related to the graphics switching in some way.

The fact that the problem doesn't happen until after an amount of time sort of also points to the graphics card switch. After a time most laptops will go into some sort of power save mode which typically involves activating the low power GPU.

Because Windows is throwing out two error messages and I have two graphics cards and because of the time delay required it seems like it might all be related in some way.
B
10
S
4
G
2
Posts: 133
Reputation: 2,667

Post » Tue Aug 06, 2013 11:16 am

Is there any way to force it to lock to one card while using Construct2?
B
233
S
62
G
33
Posts: 902
Reputation: 40,398

Post » Tue Aug 06, 2013 6:00 pm

With the way I have it setup that's what it should be doing. I've tried to turn off the low power card but you can't get rid of it completely. Something about the ATI chip visualizes through the Intel chip or something. I'm not a big fan of the setup.
B
10
S
4
G
2
Posts: 133
Reputation: 2,667

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:11 pm

I do most work on an i5 laptop with integrated Intel gfx (HD 3000?). So no card switching happening afaik.

I don't tend to have problems if it's a short period with C2 open. But when I pull all-day or all-night sessions, it crashes (twice) pretty much every time. It has more of a mem leak feel to me, but who knows.
B
31
S
6
G
3
Posts: 22
Reputation: 4,766

Post » Sun Aug 18, 2013 4:28 am

My low power GPU is i7 integrated HD 3000... interesting.
B
10
S
4
G
2
Posts: 133
Reputation: 2,667

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dop2000 and 34 guests