[REQUEST] Check for updates before running the game

Post your work in progress addons and get feedback

Post » Fri May 02, 2014 7:05 am

The offline ability of Construct 2 is pretty good, reduces bandwidth client side and server side and allows for near instant loading.

I do have a problem.

I would prefer it for the game to use the loading screen upon start up for a few seconds to wait, check the appcache file if it's been changed, and if so, load the new files.

Makes it much easier to distribute games under development and issue bug fixes.
B
9
S
3
G
1
Posts: 191
Reputation: 1,725

Post » Tue May 06, 2014 5:38 pm

Browser Object has option to check if new wersion is available.
B
20
S
4
G
1
Posts: 10
Reputation: 1,997

Post » Tue May 06, 2014 7:42 pm

Here we go in parts so you don't get lost, ok?!

    1. Add the "Browser Object"

    2. Create a new Layout, rename it, and put it as a "Custom Loading Layout" (see https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/318/ho ... ng-screens)

    3. Put "System: On the start of Layout" -> "Browser: Check for Updates"

    4. Put "Browser: On update ready" -> "Browser: Download Update"

    5. Put "Browser: On update downloaded" -> "System: Reload"

This will make it check for a update, download it and then automatically restart the game without any Loading Screen.
B
8
S
4
G
1
Posts: 32
Reputation: 1,600

Post » Tue May 06, 2014 7:55 pm

Tutorial: Offline games in Construct 2 paragraph "Updating your game".
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
289
S
112
G
94
Posts: 7,333
Reputation: 69,287

Post » Wed May 07, 2014 2:33 pm

pedropss wrote:Here we go in parts so you don't get lost, ok?!

    1. Add the "Browser Object"

    2. Create a new Layout, rename it, and put it as a "Custom Loading Layout" (see https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/318/ho ... ng-screens)

    3. Put "System: On the start of Layout" -> "Browser: Check for Updates"

    4. Put "Browser: On update ready" -> "Browser: Download Update"

    5. Put "Browser: On update downloaded" -> "System: Reload"

This will make it check for a update, download it and then automatically restart the game without any Loading Screen.

Thanks. I find it odd that I have to request a plug-in to finally get the information I need.
B
9
S
3
G
1
Posts: 191
Reputation: 1,725

Post » Wed May 07, 2014 11:51 pm

ryackov wrote:I find it odd that I have to request a plug-in to finally get the information I need.


Have you read carefully and tried to understand the available documentation before doing requests ?
Manual article Technology paragraph "Offline support" that takes to the tutorial I previously linked which contains those same informations. Only it's not a step by step recipe.

At worst, before doing a plugin request, have you tried posting/searching in the "how do I" forum ?
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
289
S
112
G
94
Posts: 7,333
Reputation: 69,287


Return to Work in Progress Addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests