Request: Faux Parallax Shader (2D)

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:10 am

[quote:2wb9vg16]I do agree that meshes WOULD work better, and ultimately look better. But unless someone can come up with a way to convert height maps to mesh files (which would IMO be the best method of "modeling" mesh files in construct), then for what I need, a shader like requested is still probably the only way to go.[/quote:2wb9vg16]

Here ya go....
[url:2wb9vg16]http://guicon.110mb.com/structure/index.php?act=page&id=2[/url:2wb9vg16]
Shitty host... is shitty, so here's the direct link
[url:2wb9vg16]http://files.getdropbox.com/u/666516/terrastruct.exe[/url:2wb9vg16]
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:20 am

[quote="newt":161ga2x4][quote:161ga2x4]I do agree that meshes WOULD work better, and ultimately look better. But unless someone can come up with a way to convert height maps to mesh files (which would IMO be the best method of "modeling" mesh files in construct), then for what I need, a shader like requested is still probably the only way to go.[/quote:161ga2x4]

Here ya go....
[url:161ga2x4]http://guicon.110mb.com/structure/index.php?act=page&id=2[/url:161ga2x4]
Shitty host... is shitty, so here's the direct link
[url:161ga2x4]http://files.getdropbox.com/u/666516/terrastruct.exe[/url:161ga2x4][/quote:161ga2x4]

Buh.. Wah.. How.. WOW!

lol!

Dude, seriously, how the hell did you make that?? It's amazing! I take it it's going to be included with v1 of construct? Cause it should be, wow. It's perfect! I'd have replied sooner but jumped right in and got carried away trying it out. I've only looked at the mesh generation part so far, it does exactly what I hoped, and will let me load a height map in and save it out directly, without having to worry about edges matching up thanks to the 0,255 being set heights across the board (neat that you did that, so does the method I'd use to create the height maps, it just saved me fiddling with values and Photoshop batches hehe). I love that there's options for how detailed the mesh should be too.



I owe you big time for this, wow, just wow!
B
3
S
2
G
3
Posts: 628
Reputation: 2,531

Post » Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:39 am

Sure no problem.
And here's a cap
[url:2b5jq5jk]http://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=5280[/url:2b5jq5jk]
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
89
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,249

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests