[Request] Multiple Tags for Audio

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:37 pm

this was a response to Madfactor, not the most previous

I get all that. I've added echo hallways, muffeled sound, distance audio effects. All using a single tag.

Maybe there is a missunderstanding to audio effects?

Every tag can have multiple effects applied to it. After that it's just about turning the effect to tag value up and down.

I have in The Blue Code. Where the player walk into the castle. While the player is walking there is the castle echo on the foot steps. per step over 10 different foot step audio files. When the player walks on the carpet the entire step&echo then become muted. Now the player walks with the audio play of random step, echo, muffled. When they walk off the muffled is 0 effect out and then its just echo on stone again. When they walk on the wooden panel we use a modified muffle to do a wood like muffle. while still having the castle echo. then when the player changes rooms to a smaller room we reduce the echo effect. when the player changes room effects again we increase the echo effect to represent the scale.

not only did we do that with the foot steps. We did with randomplay back audios for contrstruction sounds, kitchen sounds all at variety of effects.

as for the music in The blue Code castle. We have 3 volume levels and 3 different echo/reverb levels. In the kitchen the farthest from the throne. The reverb is minimal and quitest and lot's of muffle, in the hall it's medium reverb with medium volume and some muffle, then when in the throne room the muffle is off. This results in an awesome effect that when not in the Throne room you can't hear all the lower base instruments. But when you finally get to the throne room you hear them all and it's such a form of building excitement.

So I had different effects going.

I will admit however Family audio tags may make life easier. But by no means have i been limited by the current design. The hardest part working with the audio is that adding an effect to an aduio is poorly named. Actually it's not. Every time an effect is added to an audio tag it's added and referenced by a 0 index. So adding more than one effect left it harder to track. So we pre-added all our effects during the loader and splash screens. Then we knew the order of addition and were able to track them.

it would have been easier to add an effect by name and reference by name. That's what I really want.

So while i'm saying it's not interesting and certainly not saying 'no'. I just don't see a practicle use where having it stops me from doing what i want.

Anyways. I am making an advanced audio tool to handle family effects and such. In doing so I researched the WebAdudio. And what your asking can't really be done by simple means. It's why I haven't released in any form my audio manager tool. So because it's not that easy I don't see why Ashley would do the work for you that you can already do on your own. Just take the effort step and build an effect manager.
jayderyu2014-01-20 22:37:42
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,013

Post » Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:48 pm

@Jase00
I see. I get what you mean. There are some points I want to make out though.

1. it's very unlikely you will ever do this en-mass where shifting an audio node from one effect environment to another. Even if it were this can be accomplished by using
isAudioNode in environment effect sprite
once while true
-- turn on/add effect

isAudioNode not in environmetn effect sprite
once while true
- turn off effect

2. Unfortunatly WebAudio doesn't work so easily :(.Either Ashley has to do a more advanced effect manager or we do an advanced effect manager. but right now as it is now. Every thing can already be done.

But I do get what you mean and I can see families making it easier.

Anyways. I did take the problem with effects into my own hands and have been building an effect manager. Though i have been contemplating writing my own Audio Plugin entirely based around Audio Nodes and Effect Zones objects. The hiccup is that I don't want to deal with having to deal with the various devices that reqiures so many fine tuning. So currently it's just a CAPX.
B
90
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,013

Post » Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:01 pm

Well, the good thing is at least, is that there ARE workarounds :P I'm not too fussed but if AudioFamilies is a simple thing to be implemented, then huzzah!Jase002014-01-20 23:02:56
B
51
S
20
G
10
Posts: 571
Reputation: 9,819

Post » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:54 pm

Yes to clarify there is nothing I cannot currently accomplish with the current audio setup. However there is lots of redundancy and extra code that could easily be eliminated with audio families.
B
14
S
2
Posts: 39
Reputation: 689

Post » Sat Apr 15, 2017 8:13 pm

This was not yet implemented? hahaha

If not: too bad :'(
B
11
S
3
G
3
Posts: 16
Reputation: 1,810

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cliffu, Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests