Request : preload all sounds

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat May 03, 2014 11:18 am

I don't understand why no option like this in the audio plugin, if i had 40 sounds in my game it's better to preload all sounds when the player watching the loge or on the menu screen...
B
60
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 9,165

Post » Sat May 03, 2014 12:36 pm

There is a preload option in the audio object however you need to read https://www.scirra.com/manual/109/audio
Image
B
75
S
23
G
3
Posts: 673
Reputation: 9,293

Post » Sat May 03, 2014 7:18 pm

Thank's
I know about the preload option, but it take a single sound not all sounds.
B
60
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,013
Reputation: 9,165

Post » Sat May 03, 2014 7:49 pm

The thing is mostly I think you should preload them not all at once, only the needed ones firt, then the others
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
54
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,123
Reputation: 17,150

Post » Sat May 03, 2014 9:55 pm

Audio when un packed uses a noticible amount of memory. What is 3mb in a file may end up using 20mb+ in memory. This is innefecient and poor design to include 10 unique sound files that are only used on one layout for 2% of the game, yet is loaded for 98% of the game play.

it's best to to hold up the load per layout and load the sound files used in that layout.
B
92
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,113


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests