[REQUEST] Sine action "RESET"

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri May 03, 2013 6:01 pm

Thumbs up for this request from me then, because I'd like to see that added. At least I can currently set it when I create my ships, which solves the current problem, but I can see how handy it would be to be able to reset and reposition it during gameplay.
B
25
S
5
G
3
Posts: 446
Reputation: 5,633

Post » Mon May 06, 2013 7:15 pm

I would prefer being able to set the current position of the movement (in relation to the amplitude), for instance, set it to 0.5 to make it go to the halfway point. This way, if I want to reset, I can just set it to 0. I'd also be able to synchronize it to other systems.

For instance, say you have a rope dangling from the ceiling. You grab the rope and it starts lowering. As long as there is still rope, some random platform (with the sine movement) moves around. When the rope ends, the platform stops. When you let go of the rope, it retracts, and the platform does it's motion backwards. In reality it's all tied to a single variable, 0 being the rope fully retracted and 1 being the rope fully extended.Fimbul2013-05-06 19:18:35
B
35
S
8
G
8
Posts: 532
Reputation: 6,868

Post » Thu May 16, 2013 8:40 am

+1 for me. Would be nice to able to reset the sine.
B
14
S
2
G
1
Posts: 94
Reputation: 2,089

Post » Thu May 23, 2013 8:09 pm

+1 for me two. Please, please scirra add the reset function to the sine.

I would like to submit my game with this function to scirra arcade :)
B
8
S
2
Posts: 23
Reputation: 692

Post » Thu May 30, 2013 10:29 pm

I want a sine-reset, too. Right now i'm using it to shake a sprite.

I currently solve it by saving the sprites position at the point i start the sine behaviour, then on disabling i restore it via two instance variables posX & posYcalav3rade2013-05-30 22:30:50
B
2
Posts: 1
Reputation: 152

Post » Fri May 31, 2013 3:34 am

I +69 this!! Would be very useful in my boss fights. The movements eventually get out of whack because I cant reset sine.
B
45
S
12
G
7
Posts: 339
Reputation: 7,899

Post » Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:10 pm

Following the firebelly's note, I allowed myself to take the original Sine behavior, extend it with the Sine Reset function and re-pack it. To be found for download HERE

Please extract it directly into a new directory: ...\Construct2\exporters\html5\behaviors\sinx
Restart C2 after that. The new behavior appears next to the standard Sine and would not be replaced after C2 update.
B
11
S
3
G
3
Posts: 79
Reputation: 3,343

Post » Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:24 pm

It is better not to update yourself the officials behaviors/plugins @XManBGAphrodite2013-06-01 23:25:11
https://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=152506

And that is why you shall respect the bug reports guidelines, not only giving a capx is making the bug reproductible in one click in a situation they can work with (less time wasted trying to reproduce vague instructions) but also it helps filtering false positives.

Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
42
S
17
G
16
Posts: 2,094
Reputation: 15,355

Post » Sun Jun 02, 2013 7:21 am

Thanks and yes, I know, and if Scirra minds it, I'll remove the link. Anyway that's a temporary solution until its real implementation.
B
11
S
3
G
3
Posts: 79
Reputation: 3,343

Post » Wed Jun 05, 2013 9:54 pm

This DOES seem like a simple implementation. Just like period offset, except can be set anytime instead of only the initial starting point.

Worry not, for I've found a nice solution if you want to restart the sine!



Setting the Sine period to 0 will always keep the cycle position at 0, so you can abuse that to quickly reset the sine to the start.

However, it's still not as fluid as a Set Period option. I'm honestly surprised it hasn't been done already. Why not, guys?
B
19
S
5
G
1
Posts: 104
Reputation: 2,920

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 13 guests