[Request] "Unload from memory" action

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Jan 03, 2015 11:07 pm

Like I said before, it's not about running out of a memory but about "why using 100mb and 100 objects if you could use only 16mb and 1 object".
ImageImageImageImage
B
157
S
64
G
41
Posts: 2,590
Reputation: 34,640

Post » Fri Jan 09, 2015 2:46 pm

Bump
@ashley
I don't understand. Can you explain it bluntly WHY this request cannot be fulfiled? Oh and please don't argue that We don't need it - because this sounds like Microsoft.
If there are some heavy technical difficulties to implement this - okey. But if its just a matter of "you don't think its needed" then not okey. I might be getting the wrong impresion, and don't feel offended if so - but it sounds like you are giving excuses instead of explanation.
Because i have a similiar issue - i have shit load of GFX assets which i use to generate content and past it into Paster and then never to see it again. And my paster, when the content generation is done, is 5mg. and my content is about 200 mb.
The way it works in my case:
1. Spawn object A
2. Paste Object A into Paster
3. Delete Object A
4. Spawn Object B
5. Paste Object B into paster
6. Destroy Object B
And so on, rise and repeat. So at any given moment i never have more then 20mb VRAM in use. At least i should be. Because the freaking textures are stuck in VRAM long after i discared them and the player won't see them again. And i have no means, that i am aware of, of getting rid of this garbage textures sitting in VRAM.

So whats the problem? And why the heck out of 10 requests - 6 always needs to end up as arguing. Sure if there are technical obstacles - in such case i can relate and understand. But in many cases i keep hearing "No because you dont need it/We think its pointless" => thread closed.

Sorry if the "tone" of this post sounds a bit raging.

EDIT:
Lol, when googling i've found this
question-about-loading-and-unloading-textures_t61463
And i was like YAY, and then i noticed the forum path...
"Board index ‹ Construct Classic ‹ Construct Classic Discussion ‹ Help & Support using Construct Classic"

So apparently even CC had that.
B
28
S
8
G
7
Posts: 643
Reputation: 6,457

Post » Sat Jan 10, 2015 10:13 am

Fictional made up example.

Open world single layout project.
20gb of graphics....
Only need 100mb loaded/on screen at any given time.

Currently not possible. To make this amazing game.
If we could unload memory it would be possible.

Why does my mountain/snow area have my tropical assets loaded?
Wasting memory is bad.
Memory wasted is memory that could have been used to make the game better.
B
28
S
8
G
1
Posts: 226
Reputation: 2,865

Post » Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:58 pm

This feature is in my wish list already :P
B
11
S
1
Posts: 84
Reputation: 1,462

Post » Fri Jan 30, 2015 3:39 am

Bump.

I'm loading some assets externally for an editor. If an image is loaded, then the source image modified, then uploaded again, nothing happens. I can only assume this is because C2 is loading the image from memory instead of reloading the source image. If that is correct, then I support this request.
Image
B
242
S
29
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,685

Post » Fri Jan 30, 2015 7:02 am

Tylermon wrote:I think this was asked for before. Around the time the room region thing was implemented.

I thought the answer was basically no. Value wasn't seen in it. Which is absurd. Open world and single layout games would greatly benifit among other things. But I believe the answer was along the lines of use multiple layouts.

I believe the main concern was such a feature would likely be misused. And many people would complain about objects popping in as they load etc.

Anyways, I would love to see this implemented.


I think it's not that there's no value in it - I think it's just too difficult to implement into C2. And there's no reason to make it something the user should be able to control; in theory all that should happen is when an object is destroyed, it does a check to see if that object still exists in the layout. If it doesn't, then it unloads the object from memory.
B
38
S
12
G
1
Posts: 526
Reputation: 4,085

Post » Fri Jan 30, 2015 7:10 am

Tokinsom wrote:Bump.

I'm loading some assets externally for an editor. If an image is loaded, then the source image modified, then uploaded again, nothing happens. I can only assume this is because C2 is loading the image from memory instead of reloading the source image. If that is correct, then I support this request.


If you are using file chooser to pick the file and picking the same file it's quite likely this (it's not even loading): viewtopic.php?f=147&t=122124
B
19
S
6
G
6
Posts: 1,101
Reputation: 5,646

Post » Fri Jan 30, 2015 12:49 pm

Somebody wrote:If you are using file chooser to pick the file and picking the same file it's quite likely this (it's not even loading): viewtopic.php?f=147&t=122124

Ah. I'm actually loading it from disk based on data from a text file, but that might still be the issue.
Image
B
242
S
29
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,685

Post » Fri Apr 03, 2015 11:45 am

@Ashley - Is there any reason why unloading textures can't be implemented? This is preventing me from having multiple enemies in larger layouts. I have a lot of animations and large sprites for enemies and these need to be loaded and unloaded. I also want to separate out player abilities into different sprites that I can remove when not equipped. Another thing I'd like to test for my game is possibly having one large world and streaming the textures.

Any chance this can be looked at again?
B
79
S
51
G
39
Posts: 370
Reputation: 24,705

Post » Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:16 am

bumpy ^^
B
28
S
8
G
7
Posts: 643
Reputation: 6,457

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jakezinis and 6 guests