[Request] "Unload from memory" action

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:31 am

Relates to audio and music too. There absolutely needs to be an unload asset option to give developers more control that they need for more complex or large scoped games.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,616

Post » Fri Apr 17, 2015 7:49 am

Not to troll or flame but often I have this impression that the C2 doesn't have all this features that would benefit big project developers simply because... It was not meant for big projects. Like no one behind the curtain actually believed that the users will come up with something more then Flappy Crap or browsers games...
B
29
S
8
G
7
Posts: 643
Reputation: 6,482

Post » Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:37 pm

@irbis I don't think so because C2 supports large layouts, render and collision cells. Seems like it's just very difficult to implement and will also cause a lot of problems for inexperienced users.
B
81
S
53
G
42
Posts: 370
Reputation: 26,455

Post » Fri Apr 17, 2015 3:07 pm

if you add actions to unload from memory maybe you will save memory but you will increase cpu usage
so you have to choose between memory and cpu usage
the best is to keep both light
B
47
S
16
G
8
Posts: 803
Reputation: 8,378

Post » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:26 pm

UberLou wrote:@irbis I don't think so because C2 supports large layouts, render and collision cells. Seems like it's just very difficult to implement and will also cause a lot of problems for inexperienced users.

Yeah i know =\ I am just very bitter at this point.

matrixreal wrote:if you add actions to unload from memory maybe you will save memory but you will increase cpu usage
so you have to choose between memory and cpu usage
the best is to keep both light

Yes and no. 80% of the machine usage comes from VRAM usage. If you are not trying to find the number Pi or doing some real time Newtonian advanced physics - you will never reach even the half of you CPU usage from pure data processing. what chokes the user machine is 80% of the time the VRAM hogging.
And here - we have little to no control over that VRAM.
B
29
S
8
G
7
Posts: 643
Reputation: 6,482

Post » Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:59 am

- I have a layout which has a lot of objects created and destroyed right after they are used.I stored all sprites in another layout and called to create them only when they are needed . But in the playing layout I use only less than 20 sprites/text ~ 20 mb memory, and only 1 animation sprite working at once. The mobile devices ( cheap mobiles ) can't handle it, because the size of images memory keep increasing after they are created and still keep its memory after destroying ~ 100mb images memory if all the sprites are loaded in the layout. I upgraded my game with many versions then I decided down-graded it to the original version for every mobiles can run without crashing because out of memory. I really need a solution for my next games.
- I wonder if multi-layouts can solve it ? When my layout reached ~50 mb images memory and can still work, I saved it and go to another layout. Then I called an action to load that layout again, and Black-Screen , the game has crashed and quit.
- I'm not sure this request "Unload from memory" can solve my issue or not. Really need helps and advices :o
B
13
S
1
Posts: 98
Reputation: 885

Post » Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:22 am

Somebody wrote:
Tokinsom wrote:Bump.

I'm loading some assets externally for an editor. If an image is loaded, then the source image modified, then uploaded again, nothing happens. I can only assume this is because C2 is loading the image from memory instead of reloading the source image. If that is correct, then I support this request.


If you are using file chooser to pick the file and picking the same file it's quite likely this (it's not even loading): viewtopic.php?f=147&t=122124


Have the same problem, but as I recall the reason for this being so, is to minimize the amount of data needed to be downloaded, which makes sense if that Is what you are worried about. But if its not, the consequence is that you need to make a memory inefficient workaround, which makes little sense to me. I fully understand why it original is designed to work as it is in regards to the problem is trying to solve, but not why it justify that if that is not your problem, then being able to unload from memory is not needed, as its two different problem/issues that clearly doesn't share the same worries.
B
44
S
11
G
2
Posts: 1,182
Reputation: 6,848

Post » Sun Jun 14, 2015 7:49 am

I have a question here. I tested my game with a low-end Android device ( Dragon Touch Y88 512 Mb ram ), it runs very well my game, but when I added more images to a layout which are never called to load these images , the game has crash. The more never-used images, the more crashes my game has. I tried it in my HTC One ( 1 Gb ram and better cpu chips ), and I didn't get any crashes. Can someone explain for me please ? Is this sample relate to Unload issue ? Thank you for any advices and please excuse me for my english :D
B
13
S
1
Posts: 98
Reputation: 885

Post » Tue Dec 15, 2015 12:57 pm

I'm wondering about a similar thing. As I'm doing a Multiplayer game I would like to load character files on demand as they log in, and unload character assets as they log out. Would this be possible?
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
42
S
18
G
19
Posts: 1,060
Reputation: 14,054

Post » Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:27 am

I did not know it acted like this. I definitely will NOT be purchasing a license until this is addressed. This is a memory leak, plain and simple. It's a shame. I'll be giving my money to another company.
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 185

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests