[Request] "Unload from memory" action

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:36 am

Negative. Read the owners posts here. He does not care because he thinks it's not really a problem. He has made his money and went all big time on everyone. It's a damn shame as I thought this was a good company.
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 185

Post » Sat Feb 20, 2016 4:05 am

Runthis wrote:Negative. Read the owners posts here. He does not care because he thinks it's not really a problem. He has made his money and went all big time on everyone. It's a damn shame as I thought this was a good company.


Hey there, @Runthis

I can definitely understand your frustration because it's a very large flaw. Hopefully it's implemented within Construct 3 and you can give that a chance.

Heck, they may be developing Construct 3 because of such flaws as that. Haha.....
Risk Rocket now available on Google Play
Image
B
36
S
15
G
6
Posts: 337
Reputation: 6,300

Post » Sat Feb 20, 2016 4:21 am

tunepunk wrote:I'm wondering about a similar thing. As I'm doing a Multiplayer game I would like to load character files on demand as they log in, and unload character assets as they log out. Would this be possible?


You cannot unload, except when changing layouts.

Memory is managed by the browser engine, C2 has no control over it besides the initial drawing of an asset (first time will load it into memory).

It's the downside of the engine, that its suitable and streamlined for game development to keep these advanced features hidden, but it detracts from power-users who prefer to have this explicit control.

This matters but it's becoming less of a problem as mobile devices advance and they have a lot of memory.

Once you become adept at using C2, you have to design around it's limitations if you want to make a grand-scope games.

The funny thing is Unity also behaves like this, I hear from Steam devs who complaint about their lack of control over memory management.

Even turn based games, hex grid, like Thea the Awakening, lags like hell in some parts due to Unity not behaving.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,616

Post » Fri Jun 10, 2016 4:16 pm

Construct Classic unloads memory simply destroying the last sprite instance.
B
34
S
16
G
10
Posts: 285
Reputation: 7,349

Post » Sat Jun 11, 2016 10:57 pm

I don't understand how you can have memory issues when changing layout pretty much dump all previous non-global objects from memory, especially when making complex games such as mine.

Destroying objects and instances when they are unneeded also remove them from memory.

If you are having memory issues, its more due to how your game design and logic works, rather than the engine supposedly flaw. Try reading some nice blogs and articles written by veterans who can give you good tips to work your game around those issues.
B
36
S
18
G
11
Posts: 248
Reputation: 8,694

Post » Sun Jun 12, 2016 12:08 am

I'm sorry but who are you talking to @Sethmaster ?
ImageImageImageImage
B
159
S
67
G
43
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 36,028

Post » Sun Jun 12, 2016 10:13 am

shinkan wrote:I'm sorry but who are you talking to @Sethmaster ?


Nah, to nobody in particular.
Just airing out some of my opinions out after reading this thread.
B
36
S
18
G
11
Posts: 248
Reputation: 8,694

Post » Sun Jun 12, 2016 12:07 pm

Well, what you are "airing out" have no seans at all.

Sethmaster wrote:I don't understand how you can have memory issues when changing layout pretty much dump all previous non-global objects from memory, especially when making complex games such as mine.


If you read everything from top to bottom you would notice that it's not about having an issue with a memory.

Sethmaster wrote:Destroying objects and instances when they are unneeded also remove them from memory.


No.

Sethmaster wrote:If you are having memory issues, its more due to how your game design and logic works, rather than the engine supposedly flaw. Try reading some nice blogs and articles written by veterans who can give you good tips to work your game around those issues.


Then again, no idea who is that sentence directed to, but most people here participating in discussion are very experienced users who spend many years with C2 and probably wrote those blogs and articles you are talking about.

...
ImageImageImageImage
B
159
S
67
G
43
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 36,028

Post » Sat Aug 26, 2017 1:14 am

So @shinkan recently challanged me in other thread as below and pointed to this thread:
shinkan wrote:@BackendFreak if you make a plugin that will let me unload any object from current layout at any time at runtime then I'm ready to pay 20$ for it or even more :)


It looks that I made it ;). Here's a video of the first (working) test https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cVcf5znoFs

As you can see it works nicely. I just need add some more ACEs, ico and I'll release it. I think it should be available within few days.

If anyone would like to discuss some details/ACEs/whatever in regards of this plugin, I'm available on my discord server (see footer).
ImageImageImage
B
33
S
19
G
82
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 46,257

Post » Sat Aug 26, 2017 12:20 pm

BackendFreak wrote:So @shinkan recently challanged me in other thread as below and pointed to this thread:
shinkan wrote:@BackendFreak if you make a plugin that will let me unload any object from current layout at any time at runtime then I'm ready to pay 20$ for it or even more :)


It looks that I made it ;). Here's a video of the first (working) test https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cVcf5znoFs

As you can see it works nicely. I just need add some more ACEs, ico and I'll release it. I think it should be available within few days.

If anyone would like to discuss some details/ACEs/whatever in regards of this plugin, I'm available on my discord server (see footer).


Haha. Nice!
ImageImageImageImage
B
159
S
67
G
43
Posts: 2,603
Reputation: 36,028

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests