Reset Construct 2 Preferences

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Oct 22, 2011 3:25 am

Where is the preference file located?

I seem to have messed up my Construct 2 interface and can't get the layers or object palettes to pop up anymore even by clicking the check box. I'm not sure if this is a bug or not but I need to delete the settings file where ever it is. It would be convenient to have a "reset preferences" button down the road maybe. Thanks in advance.
B
31
S
6
G
7
Posts: 140
Reputation: 5,983

Post » Sat Oct 22, 2011 3:47 am

I agree - I think it would be good to have a button built-in rather than having to go into the registry to fix it.
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

Post » Sat Oct 22, 2011 4:53 am

Delete HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Scirra\Construct2 in the registry and it'll revert to fresh install settings. Any ideas what you did to end up with a broken UI?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,468

Post » Sat Oct 22, 2011 5:41 am

At some point I remember my former wide screen died on me (24). I replaced it with a 19 CRT screen, and I did not have access to the animations window or the frames window.
When my new wide screen arrived, I had it back. I figured it just went "in the wind" because of the resolution change (1920X1024 to 1024X780).
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Sat Oct 22, 2011 7:08 am

Yea to be honest it was a friend who was having this problem. He recently bought 2 new monitors. So maybe it was the same problem Kyatric had. Thanks for your help Ashley that reg edit fixed it though.
B
31
S
6
G
7
Posts: 140
Reputation: 5,983

Post » Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:45 pm

Thank you =) mine got weird when I had problem loading a file, telling me that certain objects didn't exist, even when they did. Played around in the event sheet .xml files and then I could only boot the program, but no UI was loaded

This fix helped it, thank you
B
7
S
2
G
1
Posts: 58
Reputation: 692


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests