Resize the Canvas in Runtime

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jun 14, 2012 9:33 am

This is a suggestion, i would like we should to have resize the canvas to original resolution, scale, letterbox, etc. WITHOUT fullscreen because there some old computers cant run 60 fps on fullscreen like scale and letterbox, otherwise can run 60 fps on original resolution as fullscreen is off.

Ive researched to try my game on my older computer that doesn't support WebGL and runs 30 FPS on letterbox, besides it runs 60 fps on original resolution and Canvas2D. I think the users can change size the canvas on the options panel what they decide to get prefered size the canvas in runtime.

What do you think?
B
104
S
29
G
22
Posts: 3,066
Reputation: 24,273

Post » Thu Jun 14, 2012 1:49 pm

Why not get the user to resize the browser window smaller?
Scirra Founder
B
362
S
216
G
75
Posts: 23,100
Reputation: 180,442

Post » Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:37 am

Well, look i made these concept pics what im talking about:





Is that possible?
B
104
S
29
G
22
Posts: 3,066
Reputation: 24,273

Post » Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:47 am

I am also wondering this.
This could be a great feature.
B
3
Posts: 4
Reputation: 533

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:28 pm

bump
B
104
S
29
G
22
Posts: 3,066
Reputation: 24,273

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:51 pm

I support this idea. I imagine most people's browsers are always maximized, so they probably won't even know they can change the canvas size by adjusting the browser window. Starting the game at 1,2, or 3x canvas size and allowing users to change it in an options menu would be nice, if not more intuitive.
Image
B
230
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,776
Reputation: 18,153

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:59 pm

OK, I'll have a look at adding it soon.
Scirra Founder
B
362
S
216
G
75
Posts: 23,100
Reputation: 180,442

Post » Sun Jun 17, 2012 11:11 pm

Good, it would be a nice feature for some people who really want to change canvas size :)
B
104
S
29
G
22
Posts: 3,066
Reputation: 24,273

Post » Mon Dec 26, 2016 3:59 pm

Did this happen?
B
34
S
9
G
5
Posts: 722
Reputation: 5,928

Post » Mon Dec 26, 2016 4:28 pm

Zebbi wrote:Did this happen?

Yeah, System > Set Canvas Size
B
22
S
9
G
7
Posts: 421
Reputation: 6,543

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests