Resolution switcher - win10 testers needed

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Jul 13, 2017 11:31 am

Ouch! I hadn't considered that. Why would the antivirus even pick up on it? Hmm...

Good news is, I'm working on a new version that allows communication between BMSwitch and nw.js builds. What that means is you'll be able to set resolutions and switch between fullscreen and window modes from within the game itself! It also means the Launcher.exe becomes a bit redundant, and if that's the only one virus scanners get freaked out by I guess I could just ditch it for the new version.
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,619

Post » Thu Jul 13, 2017 1:14 pm

@ErekT, well that sounds like a great feature for sure :D
B
58
S
24
G
14
Posts: 773
Reputation: 13,162

Post » Thu Jul 13, 2017 6:56 pm

ErekT wrote:Ouch! I hadn't considered that. Why would the antivirus even pick up on it? Hmm...

Good news is, I'm working on a new version that allows communication between BMSwitch and nw.js builds. What that means is you'll be able to set resolutions and switch between fullscreen and window modes from within the game itself! It also means the Launcher.exe becomes a bit redundant, and if that's the only one virus scanners get freaked out by I guess I could just ditch it for the new version.



Hey, it's because the file isn't listed in Norton's database (I'm using Norton Security Suite) and doesn't have a "track record" of safety (the number of active users is low). It also doesn't like that there isn't a publisher listed. I have a clipboard copy of a readout here. It happens for both the game and launcher executables. I'm not sure whether there's some way to register with Norton or what - or whether this would pop up with other antivirus programs.


Clipboard copy:


Filename: game.exe
Full Path: c:\users\xxxxx\downloads\testbuild\win32\game.exe

____________________________

____________________________


Developers 
Not Available

Version 
Not Available

Identified 
7/13/2017 at 11:49:55 AM

Last Used 
7/13/2017 at 11:50:43 AM

Startup Item 
No


____________________________


Very Few Users
Fewer than 5 users in the Norton Community have used this file.

Very New
This file was released less than 1 week  ago.

Unproven
There is not enough information about this file to recommend it.


____________________________


Source File:
winrar.exe

File Created:
game.exe

____________________________


File Thumbprint - SHA:
500eda7ae1dd86f41e533efc953899490f13c2edadac26afd7ec24d0cfbf6f28
File Thumbprint - MD5:
d4f9bc072fcc68577a6a0261d8164797
B
69
S
40
G
24
Posts: 356
Reputation: 18,314

Post » Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:31 pm

Heya,

well... not sure how I'm gonna tackle that to be honest. I have no idea how to inject a developer or version ID into a blitzmax program. Maybe I can ask around...

In the meantime though..:
I got in-game screenmode switching working reliably now. Finally! So that means you'll be able to switch between resolutions and between window and fullscreen modes from within your game, just like in any native engine :D There's also a feature in place to snap screenshots that get saved to disk in a numbered sequence. Still need to set up a new example capx and some other minor stuff, but it's getting close to done :)
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,619

Post » Sat Jul 15, 2017 10:20 pm

ErekT wrote:Heya,

well... not sure how I'm gonna tackle that to be honest. I have no idea how to inject a developer or version ID into a blitzmax program. Maybe I can ask around...

In the meantime though..:
I got in-game screenmode switching working reliably now. Finally! So that means you'll be able to switch between resolutions and between window and fullscreen modes from within your game, just like in any native engine :D There's also a feature in place to snap screenshots that get saved to disk in a numbered sequence. Still need to set up a new example capx and some other minor stuff, but it's getting close to done :)


These are some wonderful news
Last edited by megatronx on Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
92
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,987
Reputation: 20,178

Post » Sun Jul 16, 2017 7:28 am

ErekT wrote:Heya,

well... not sure how I'm gonna tackle that to be honest. I have no idea how to inject a developer or version ID into a blitzmax program. Maybe I can ask around...

In the meantime though..:
I got in-game screenmode switching working reliably now. Finally! So that means you'll be able to switch between resolutions and between window and fullscreen modes from within your game, just like in any native engine :D There's also a feature in place to snap screenshots that get saved to disk in a numbered sequence. Still need to set up a new example capx and some other minor stuff, but it's getting close to done :)


This is super exciting :). Thanks for working on this!
B
69
S
40
G
24
Posts: 356
Reputation: 18,314

Post » Wed Jul 19, 2017 9:47 pm

Okay, this took a bit longer than expected! The program is done, save a couple of kinks to iron out. I have the documentation and another example capx to sort out. It's a bit involved to set up so I wanna make sure everything is arranged to make it as easy as possible for users to integrate into their projects. For now, here's a small demo of the system in action:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lzg06qfltawad ... o.rar?dl=0

Run 'Game.exe' (and make sure your virus scanner doesn't gobble it up ;P). Arrow keys to select and enter to apply changes.

Printscreen will take a screenshot and save it to the folder 'snapshots'.
B
39
S
16
G
6
Posts: 543
Reputation: 7,619

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MadSpy and 9 guests