Resolution vs number of users

Chat about anything not covered in these forums, but keep it civil!

Post » Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:33 pm

[quote="SoldjahBoy":2nc184kk]
Get with the times! 1024x768 in my opinion is the current day standard minimum. Depending on the style of game you are making, this resolution may be excessive, but in most cases it's not. In fact, most of the games made by a large number of indie developers are, in my opinion, too low of a resolution. Why reduce something that could look awesome into a garble of barely recognisable pixels... especially this day in age.
[/quote:2nc184kk]

it takes a very very long time to make nice graphics for that res, and making hi res graphics clogs up most low end gfx cards. simple graphics can tell a story just as well as hi res ones, except without needing expensive hardware to be run at a decent framerate.
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:36 pm

[quote="SoldjahBoy":10o9pyqh]I play everything in 1920x1200 with everything on ultra maximum...[/quote:10o9pyqh]
yeah, baby
except the newest few games are starting to slow down if I don't turn down my AA to 2 or 4
so it's about time for an upgrade
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:51 pm

[quote="lucid":4az8bv1t][quote="SoldjahBoy":4az8bv1t]I play everything in 1920x1200 with everything on ultra maximum...[/quote:4az8bv1t]
yeah, baby
except the newest few games are starting to slow down if I don't turn down my AA to 2 or 4
so it's about time for an upgrade[/quote:4az8bv1t]

If you can aford an upgrade, you do it.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
71
S
19
G
19
Posts: 1,919
Reputation: 16,910

Post » Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:37 am

[quote="QuaziGNRLnose":dt9jb646][quote="SoldjahBoy":dt9jb646]
Get with the times! 1024x768 in my opinion is the current day standard minimum. Depending on the style of game you are making, this resolution may be excessive, but in most cases it's not. In fact, most of the games made by a large number of indie developers are, in my opinion, too low of a resolution. Why reduce something that could look awesome into a garble of barely recognisable pixels... especially this day in age.
[/quote:dt9jb646]

it takes a very very long time to make nice graphics for that res, and making hi res graphics clogs up most low end gfx cards. simple graphics can tell a story just as well as hi res ones, except without needing expensive hardware to be run at a decent framerate.[/quote:dt9jb646]
Yeah the main valid point in regards to the deabte, is yes... it DOES take a lot longer to make hi resolution artwork to go with your game. Low-fi graphics are always easier to create... and in some cases the retro style fits the game a lot better than higher res, more modern graphics, while in others it really limits a great idea to being merely an OK idea.

Tonks is being made in 1024x768... I know it's fairly simple in terms of the art library, (IE not hundreds of sprites) but I'm thinking I should have designed it in a higher resolution already.

Anyway, everyone will make the style they are most comfortable with and that is within their abilities as a creator. I just prefer a higher resolution as my personal thing.

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:22 am

The best answer is not one resolution
The best answer is all resolutions
Modern games don't have the option to change quality and resolution for nothing now do they?
So make the graphics on highest quality and then downscale
Though positioning of sprites might be tricky but I think construct is able to make this fine adjustments
The only real problem here would be aspect ratio but that doesn't have any workarounds to begin with and only on games that are non scrolling so you could either cut, make backgrounds with different aspect ratio AND perspective or you could even scroll it
B
2
G
4
Posts: 43
Reputation: 1,136

Post » Wed Jul 01, 2009 2:33 pm

[quote="adrix89":18lts0is]The best answer is not one resolution
The best answer is all resolutions
Modern games don't have the option to change quality and resolution for nothing now do they?
So make the graphics on highest quality and then downscale
Though positioning of sprites might be tricky but I think construct is able to make this fine adjustments
The only real problem here would be aspect ratio but that doesn't have any workarounds to begin with and only on games that are non scrolling so you could either cut, make backgrounds with different aspect ratio AND perspective or you could even scroll it[/quote:18lts0is]

10x the work cause your drawing hug graphics, plus a 320x240 game can be eating up 200mb of vram or more.
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Wed Jul 01, 2009 4:56 pm

[quote="QuaziGNRLnose":1d52epht]
10x the work cause your drawing hug graphics, plus a 320x240 game can be eating up 200mb of vram or more.[/quote:1d52epht]
Not sure what you mean :?
But to clarify when I said downscaled I was referring to making multiple texture packages in external image manipulation programs that can be loaded depending on what you chose in the in game option and loaded at runtime
This is mostly for static images that probably can be optimized(split into multiple power of 2 textures)
I'm not fully sure for animation but in the worst case scenario you can do multiple exes with different resolutions
B
2
G
4
Posts: 43
Reputation: 1,136

Post » Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:32 pm

when i get my project off the ground i'll probably make a resolution changer plugin if it's possible. i'll have a look into the sdk

if anyone has experience with the problem of differing resolutions, what needs to be taken into account? as in zoom, layer scaling, image sizes, behaviors, etc? assuming you want your game to be identically sized, just with higher or lower res,
so i can figure out whether its even plausible
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:57 pm

[quote="lucid":13gf5dvl]when i get my project off the ground i'll probably make a resolution changer plugin if it's possible. i'll have a look into the sdk

if anyone has experience with the problem of differing resolutions, what needs to be taken into account? as in zoom, layer scaling, image sizes, behaviors, etc? assuming you want your game to be identically sized, just with higher or lower res,
so i can figure out whether its even plausible[/quote:13gf5dvl]

oH YES, THAT WOULD BE AWSOME!
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
71
S
19
G
19
Posts: 1,919
Reputation: 16,910

Post » Wed Jul 01, 2009 10:09 pm

The runtime already supports changing to any resolution via events, and you can position things for any resolution using DisplayWidth and DisplayHeight expressions. What's wrong with that?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,948
Reputation: 178,532

PreviousNext

Return to Open Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests