Restting Local Variables

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Mar 02, 2012 6:26 am

[QUOTE=unlikely] [QUOTE=Erndog2k]p.s my game so far is 45 mbs unpacked with two levels is that too big?[/QUOTE]
My main question is: what do you have in your game that is so large? Is it necessary?

Yes, that is probably far to big for most smaller-scope games, especially if its delivery mechanism is over the internet. Remember, whoever plays your game (if it's on the internet) has to download it (whether streaming or otherwise)! [/QUOTE]

Thanks for your input. I have now deleted the crapola out of a bunch of imported created instances that can be just cloned/copied from original. I don't need three of the same object in my game.

so it's now 26 mbs(unpacked) only two levels well two and a half levels.

I think it might be the layout size and rez of my background

2048,1024 I have the top 512 used for my background and game and bottom 512 used for touch controls

is this layout and rez to big for a small phone game. Erndog2k2012-03-02 06:26:56
B
27
S
11
G
1
Posts: 246
Reputation: 5,048

Post » Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:16 am

I tested it on my momz 1st or second gen samsung android no multi touch and it worked great with the odd stutter that went away after one playthrough. I still think I should lower the rez of the whole thing



If I wanted to lower the rez of a whole level how would I do that ?

without having to redo or reimport any thing could I just highlight everythin and shrink it to fit new smaller layout for better performance or wil my backgrounds need to be made to proper sizes?
B
27
S
11
G
1
Posts: 246
Reputation: 5,048

Post » Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:27 am

What is the average size for an Iphone Game anyhow? I read it's about 7-8mbs how is that even possible?...

What am I doing wrong I cant even think about having to go throught EVERY single image and resizing, unless someone tells me that's what I have to do. or some sort of compression I don't know please help.

like theres no way all the 3d games on the Iphone are 7-8 mbs so I must have read an old article.

I'm going to start editing posts lol

__EDIT___

I found this site with all the Iphone games in a list with price and size etc.. ranging anywere from 180mbs for rockband to 7 mbs for solitare

so I think i'm good if I hit 34mbs compressed extract in constuct2 and that will be about 30 compressed in 7zip or .rar so i'm good now.

Heck Uno is 75 mbs omg for uno wow

http://www.iphonegamesite.com/ Erndog2k2012-03-02 07:43:33
B
27
S
11
G
1
Posts: 246
Reputation: 5,048

Post » Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:52 am

Actualy this seems pretty accurate.
Phone are devices disposing of small size of storage. 7 - 8 Mbs is already a lot for a phone.

You told me in your pm that you wanted to take a game designer class, here's a first tip: you'll be asked to read and look for informations. A lot.

The questions you ask are already answered through the forum, the manual, the tutorials and the blog posts.

Also please, don't double/triple/crazy post.
Think about all you have to write about and write a single full post.
If a few minutes later you think about something you want to add, click on "Post options", "Edit post".

Also to answer about the resolution, yes this is a crazy resolution.
Making a forum search with the keywords "mobile resolution" this topic shows

Image compression, you can read about in this article.

Consider every beginner's answers have already been answered in a way or another on the site.
Learning to search for infos by yourself will be a precious skill.

Nontheless, if you have questions, don't hesitate to post.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:43 am

Thank u for all of your advise I just got kinda tired of all of the tut's after in the past two-three months I tought myself:
Cyengine3(Vet of 2), Google sketch, World Machine, Maya(sorta),Photoshop CS5(gimp 4 GT5 so it was easy), Mudbox, and a bunch of the aspects around them.

Then 1 week ago I found Construct 2 and here we are. lol

Check out my youtube channel(profile) you can find alot of my Cryengine work there.

I sorta just dive in head first into things, don't bother to check for water. lol

The water being the cushion(Community,n Tut's) in this case.

_______________Edit_____



I just exported my level with BRUTE compression then compessed with 7Zip at ultra and it's 12mbs now

I read that AT&T wont allow 3G/4G downloads of games over 20mbs so I might be good. Just can't make the 12 levels I wanted Oh well 5 or maybe 6 I guess. with different modes for each like time attack or something???? I'll figure it out.

I tested it on my momz cell as I said it ran great with odd stutter.
but stuuter is because it's like a streaming movie but game right.

I bet it would be in good practice to take the time and redo my images but darn. I wish I was a game studio i'd get a lower level to do it. lol



____Edit____

last note: Keep in mind I want the true version to be on facebook afterwardsErndog2k2012-03-02 08:55:03
B
27
S
11
G
1
Posts: 246
Reputation: 5,048

Post » Fri Mar 02, 2012 1:07 pm

[QUOTE=Erndog2k]I read that AT&T wont allow 3G/4G downloads of games over 20mbs so I might be good. Just can't make the 12 levels I wanted Oh well 5 or maybe 6 I guess. with different modes for each like time attack or something???? I'll figure it out.

I bet it would be in good practice to take the time and redo my images but darn. I wish I was a game studio i'd get a lower level to do it. lol
... Keep in mind I want the true version to be on facebook afterwards[/QUOTE]

You are definitely going to want to check on your image sizes / formats. The main thing that is going to increase your overall size is the size, number, and kind (format) of images and sounds you are using. A fewer number of object instances is not going to noticeably change your overall game size. Also, a fewer number of levels is not necessarily going to affect your overall size much either (maybe a little). The main thing is the total number and size of your images as far as download size is concerned.unlikely2012-03-02 13:08:20
B
13
S
6
G
2
Posts: 13
Reputation: 1,977

Post » Fri Mar 02, 2012 3:35 pm

ok my layout is 2048,1024
top 512 has my background
bottom 512 touch controls

if I made my levels layouts 1024,512

can I still attain the same results:

256 top background

256 bottom touch conrols

I don't want my images to become all squishy looking, Ok I think I can do it i'm currently making all of my backgrounds (1024,512)
I think that will be the best optimal rez in my situation.

_____EDIT_____

Can someone give me there advise on choice of image format im using .png
it doesn't appear to compress the image at all, just ask's to interlace or not.
I choose not. I'm still NEW to photoshop and all I need to know right now at this point is best image format I will google it and search forum but if someone can give there personal pref's i'd be very gratefulErndog2k2012-03-02 16:02:22
B
27
S
11
G
1
Posts: 246
Reputation: 5,048

Post » Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:54 pm

[QUOTE=Kyatric]Image compression, you can read about in this article.[/QUOTE]

The green stuff in my previous answers are links.
When you click on them it takes you to a new page where informations in relation to your questions are given.
Going to those pages and reading them generaly helps you answering your questions.

[QUOTE=smitchell] It all depends on what phones you wish to develop for.

iphone 3gs - 320x480
iphone 4, 4s - 640x960
ipad, ipad2 - 1024x768.

[/QUOTE]

[quote]Image export formats

There are three image formats you can choose from the Image Format dialog: PNG-32 (true color PNG), PNG-8 (256-color PNG) and JPEG (for photographic type images). That's roughly in order of largest to smallest file size too (PNG-32 is usually largest and JPEG usually smallest).

All images in the project folder are stored as PNG-32[/quote]
So it doesn't matter what format you input to C2, it stores it for you and allow you to compress it on export.


[quote]So on export, images are converted from PNG-32 to a different format if you've changed the image format anywhere. If they're still set to export to PNG-32 and you have enabled PNG recompression in the Export Project dialog, some other interesting things happen to make sure they're as small as possible. These are described a bit later.[/quote]

Read the rest on the blog article already linked earlier.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:43 pm

wow my game with thre levels is 12mbs after brute and compress 7zip ulrat awsome 6 levels it is.

thanks for all of your help, set backgounds to jpg medium, and png's to 8bits

I dicovered some easy ways of moving the images

like if I want my resized background of 1024,256 to be at center I just type in position 0,0 so easy and same goes for everything else to an extent.


I'm going on break soon from this untill ME3 comes out and I beat it and my head explodes from PURE AWSOME EPIC THOR Juice


P.S
the resolution of an Iphone doesn't have to be that resolution does it?

because I'm quite fine with 1024,512 layout
it all fits neatly on my momz early gen samsung android
with odd stutter still but gone after a playthrough.

I don't know if it was sayed in the tut about multiple screen sizes I didn't see it atleast thx in advance.

-----Also if that is tha max limit then....------ I could just make it for Ipad? but that will suck if they have that limit it fits?

I don't own an Iphone yet so I don't really know anything about them to be honest. pure PC guy. lol
Erndog2k2012-03-02 19:50:54
B
27
S
11
G
1
Posts: 246
Reputation: 5,048

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Nifl and 28 guests