Right-click content menu

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:02 pm

I have browsed through a lot of the posts on here but haven't yet found anything on this. So here it goes...

Is there a way (plugin/built-in coding) for a designer to change the right-click menu content and what actions the right-click menu options do?

I'm not exactly asking for someone to show me how just yet, I'd just like to know if Construct2 has the capability or if I need to figure out how to to incorporate it.

B
22
S
9
G
3
Posts: 202
Reputation: 3,645

Post » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:07 pm

Here is an example


http://www.harelmalka.com/rightcontext/Example
B
22
S
9
G
3
Posts: 202
Reputation: 3,645

Post » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:17 pm

Are you talking about using jscript to create a menu, or just a menu to use in game?
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:28 pm

A menu to use in the game. For example: right-click on an object and the right-click menu (instead of giving options like "Back", "Save Background As", "Create Shortcut", "View Source" etc...) gives options for that object like "Examine Object", "Use Object", "Drop Object" etc. And, of course, have those options if left-clicked perform that particular event for that object.
B
22
S
9
G
3
Posts: 202
Reputation: 3,645

Post » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:48 pm

Construct 2 already supports the option for checking for Right, Middle or Left button, so creating a menu shouldn't be a problem.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,841
Reputation: 48,283

Post » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:58 pm

"(instead of giving options like "Back", "Save Background As", "Create Shortcut", "View Source" etc...)"

Yeah the normal context is disabled for obvious reasons.

Anyway as zenox98 said you can make your own, and there's no reason someone can't make a plug to simplify it some.

The only question is how to go about it, as there's several different ways.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
90
Posts: 7,347
Reputation: 66,749

Post » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:58 pm

The browser right-click menu can't be changed, because, well, it's the browser's menu!

However, as the other posts indicate, you can always make your own menu out of sprites and text or whatever, and have that shown.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,528

Post » Wed Sep 14, 2011 3:09 pm

Thank you all. Guess I have to tinker with some javascript.
B
22
S
9
G
3
Posts: 202
Reputation: 3,645


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Artpunk and 13 guests