Road to 1.0 - what's to be done

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:20 am

- The "Game has been modified. Do you wish to save?" popup still doesn't appear after modifying events, animations, etc.

-Sometimes when clicking on an event or condition, every event in the editor is highlighted. Scrolling up or down fixes this, but it can get annoying.

- Hotkeys don't work in the animation editor (Not sure if they're even supposed to, but it would be nice..)
Image
B
225
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,774
Reputation: 18,024

Post » Sun Sep 26, 2010 6:17 pm

Finish the Object folder so we can drag objects out of them.=/
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Sun Sep 26, 2010 6:33 pm

don't know if this has been fixed in 0.99.95
when a text object is inserted, to change the font we have to write the name of the font. It would be better to have a drop down menu since many times some fonts have very long names and remembering them or copying them is tedious.
B
9
S
3
G
3
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2,301

Post » Sun Sep 26, 2010 8:58 pm

[quote="abhilash2863":2d96udkz]don't know if this has been fixed in 0.99.95
when a text object is inserted, to change the font we have to write the name of the font. It would be better to have a drop down menu since many times some fonts have very long names and remembering them or copying them is tedious.[/quote:2d96udkz]

Amen! We need more fonts, too. I've been wishing for Westminster. I type it in but it doesn't go, so I guess it's not in Construct.

I haven't used the later version of Construct, and please forgive me if this is already possible... but is there any way possible that we can get this to make life easier:

Ability to take any number of images and fasten them together into a group, so we resize them inside the layout all at once by pulling the corners of the image target.

This functionality is in the Wix website builder (wix.com). You should really check it out. A lot of its layout editor functions would be a Godsend in Construct, especially for building presentations more efficiently.
B
12
S
4
G
3
Posts: 426
Reputation: 2,458

Post » Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:48 am

[quote:3imcxetu]Amen! We need more fonts, too. I've been wishing for Westminster. I type it in but it doesn't go, so I guess it's not in Construct.[/quote:3imcxetu]

you have to add those fonts to make them work. Download the fonts and paste the font file in Control Panel>Fonts.
B
9
S
3
G
3
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2,301

Post » Mon Sep 27, 2010 11:50 am

[quote="abhilash2863":3fadssho][quote:3fadssho]Amen! We need more fonts, too. I've been wishing for Westminster. I type it in but it doesn't go, so I guess it's not in Construct.[/quote:3fadssho]

you have to add those fonts to make them work. Download the fonts and paste the font file in Control Panel>Fonts.[/quote:3fadssho]
Not the best way of having to do it, unfortunately. It'd be nice in that case if the fonts the game uses were self-contained in the application - although that then opens up a licensing can of worms (plenty of free/open source fonts out there though - e.g., the Google Droid family).
B
2
S
2
G
3
Posts: 158
Reputation: 1,566

Post » Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:19 pm

[quote="Sslaxx":2cy7mret]Not the best way of having to do it, unfortunately.[/quote:2cy7mret]

Indeed. Right click on the file, select install. It's actually the same thing, as Windows recognizes the fonts folder as a "special" folder.

Also, your game will probably need an installer that installs said files (I haven't tested it).
I suggest Spritefont. It looks prettier anyway :)
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665

Post » Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:26 am

It is possible during design mode to make 'F5' keyboard buttons as "Project Run All" shortcut by default?

As Visual Studio user, I accidentally clicked the F5 button to Run the project many times! :lol:
B
2
G
2
Posts: 8
Reputation: 666

Post » Tue Sep 28, 2010 11:45 am

[quote:12ivdzck]Indeed. Right click on the file, select install. It's actually the same thing, as Windows recognizes the fonts folder as a "special" folder.

Also, your game will probably need an installer that installs said files (I haven't tested it).
I suggest Spritefont. It looks prettier anyway[/quote:12ivdzck]

you mean right now if we export the game, we also have to bundle the fonts with it??
B
9
S
3
G
3
Posts: 366
Reputation: 2,301

Post » Tue Sep 28, 2010 1:53 pm

Yeah, and a lot of fonts don't let you redistribute them if they aren't unable to be extracted from the application. Not to mention the text object doesn't word wrap punctuation properly, anyway.

Use sprite fonts.
Moderator
B
87
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,397

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests