Run multiple previews

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:46 pm

Hi,

Currently, you cannot have more than one preview of your game. This isn't usually a problem, but even if you open a second instance of construct, you cannot run both previews at the same time. This is very annoying for developing networking stuff, as you often need to make changes to client and server, and its a bit of a hassle having to export the .exe every time.

Also, what is the harm of being able to open multiple previews anyway? I don't really mind not being able to open multiple previews of one game, but it would be very nice if I could have 2 constructs running, and have both running previews.

Can this be done?
Thanks
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 448
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:48 pm

Run one in debug mode and other in preview mode.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:52 pm

haha sweet! Definitely should have tried that... cheer man

EDIT - This works if you run the layout first, then debug second. HOWEVER, they run the same file. I want to run my 2 different programs that i have open in different instances of construct.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 448
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:05 pm

This happens because all instances of Construct try to write to the same Temp.exe file.

I've fixed it for the next build, you can run multiple previews, even from the same instance of the IDE. They go to Temp.exe, Temp2.exe, Temp3.exe...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Wed Sep 01, 2010 5:18 pm

oh my word this is excellent! :D
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 448
Reputation: 2,546


Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests