Running Construct 2 even if you just have a mac

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:35 pm

One of the things that frustrates me about my own situation is that I only have Macs at work. But that doesn't deter me from trying to figure out how to use Construct 2 remotely. Recently I discovered you can set up a free Windows instance on EC2 which runs Construct 2 just fine (although it complains about older video drivers). So if you just have a Mac or you like the idea of running your whole setup remotely these instructions can get you a basic windows instance working and install a copy of Construct 2 and dropbox and you are good to go!

http://docs.amazonwebservices.com/AWSEC2/latest/WindowsGuide/Welcome.html

Given that you are basically the only user on a server that expects 1000's of hits, you can probably be able to run it 100% of the time without worrying about using it more than the free service expects.

I'm sure there are many other ways to work around this like having a windows VM, but I've had no issues with connectivity and you don't slow down your laptop running a heavy duty VM.
B
18
S
3
G
5
Posts: 41
Reputation: 4,398

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:37 pm

Plus here's the specific link to the tutorial that will get you up and going: http://docs.amazonwebservices.com/AWSEC2/latest/WindowsGuide/EC2Win_GetStarted.html
B
18
S
3
G
5
Posts: 41
Reputation: 4,398

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 8:24 pm

Or you could just install Windows on a local VM...It works fine for me.
B
6
Posts: 19
Reputation: 565


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests