Runtime Errors

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2007 9:34 am

I can't for the life of me get the demos and executables to run, every single executable, either one that I've exported, or one from the official site, gives me this error (or a similar one).

Runtime error: Failed to load plugin C:\DOCUME~1\Brian\LOCALS~1\Temp\cap48C.tmp\1.sfx

They vary slightly on the filename, but what's going on? I can run these from within the Project if it's open in construct, by using Preview, but if I export an EXE I invariably get this error. Other than that this seems like an amazing tool, I just wish I could show my work to my friends. I searched the forums pretty thoroughly and it seems like the issue is isolated to me so it must be a blonde moment on my part.
B
5
S
2
G
5
Posts: 221
Reputation: 2,272

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:55 pm

Hmm, does it happen with ANY plugin? i.e. if you export an EXE with just a sprite in it, or just a button in it, does this still happen?

Are you on Vista?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2007 7:25 pm

I'm running Windows XP, not Vista.

I tried making a program consisting of only a sprite and only a button. Neither ran from the EXE they created, both of them ran from preview within the program. They both threw me the same runtime error.

I can confirm this is a problem with me personally though, as I had my friend run one of your demos from the site and he said it worked fine. Then I had him run one of the programs I have made (using preview) from EXE, and it worked great for him.

I exported an empty, new project, and it ran from EXE, so it must have something to do with the plugins.

UPDATE: Looked in that folder, C:\Documents and Settings\Brian\Local Settings\Temp\cap48C.tmp\1.sfx

The file is there, not to mention the files from every attempt at trying to run a program made with Construct are there littering the Local Settings folder. For some reason they are there but the program cannot access them, and is not deleting them.

My local settings folder has a green check mark that has something to do with sharing on it, but network sharing is disabled for that folder. The folder is read only but according to the Microsoft Knowledge Database that is normal.
B
5
S
2
G
5
Posts: 221
Reputation: 2,272

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2007 11:51 pm

Well I uninstalled SVN and the green check mark disappeared. It is not possible to make the folder not read-only, as apparently it's supposed to be read only according to the Microsoft Knowledge Database. I reinstalled Construct to make sure all the libraries and such were properly installed the first time. I also deleted everything in the temp folder, but the executables still will not run. Hope all this information is helpful as to why it's not working.
B
5
S
2
G
5
Posts: 221
Reputation: 2,272

Post » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:30 am

I've no idea why it doesn't work for you. What I'll do is tweak the error message to give a bit more info for 0.86.2, which should be going up tonight. If you then try again, and let me know the new error message, I should be able to find out a bit more about what's going on.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:22 am

Alright thanks man, cause this tool is freaking awesome. I know some C++ but it took me something like two weeks to accomplish what I can do in minutes with Construct.
B
5
S
2
G
5
Posts: 221
Reputation: 2,272

Post » Thu Dec 06, 2007 4:41 am

OK, 0.86.2 is up and I changed the error message. If you could paste the new error message I'll look up what went wrong (there should just be a number at the end of the message).
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Thu Dec 06, 2007 5:06 am

New error is:

Failed to load plugin C:\DOCUME~1\Brian\LOCALS~1\Temp\cap64.tmp\0.sfx (998)
B
5
S
2
G
5
Posts: 221
Reputation: 2,272

Post » Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:37 pm

MSDN says that error #998 (ERROR_NOACCESS) is "Invalid access to memory location". That's really weird. I'll try investigating it more when I have time.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:50 pm

I looked in to this bug a bit and error 998 is returned when the DLL being loaded crashes. So for some reason the plugins are crashing when they are loading. The only thing to do is to debug it, but it works for me and everyone else, so I don't know what to do :S

The only thing I can think of is to completely uninstall, delete all Construct related files, delete the folder HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Construct from the registry (in regedit), and reinstall Construct again, installing both the CRT and DirectX update. There's an outside chance installing this update might help as well.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests