Runtime Errors

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:50 pm

I looked in to this bug a bit and error 998 is returned when the DLL being loaded crashes. So for some reason the plugins are crashing when they are loading. The only thing to do is to debug it, but it works for me and everyone else, so I don't know what to do :S

The only thing I can think of is to completely uninstall, delete all Construct related files, delete the folder HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Construct from the registry (in regedit), and reinstall Construct again, installing both the CRT and DirectX update. There's an outside chance installing this update might help as well.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:21 am

So for Christmas I got Windows Vista Ultimate, and I was long overdue for a format anyway so I jumped at the opportunity.

Just an update - I can now run my own programs finally. :) It must have had something to do with my OS configuration with XP.
B
5
S
2
G
5
Posts: 221
Reputation: 2,272

Post » Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:38 pm

hey arsonide, just for fun you may want to try memtest86 on your computer -- sometimes things like overclocking can lead to instability and weird problems with random programs
B
2
G
5
Posts: 34
Reputation: 1,318

Post » Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:09 pm

Glad its fixed :) it's a shame we didn't get to the bottom of it though, because if it happens to someone else, we're back to square one.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Fri Feb 15, 2008 11:13 pm

Welcome back to square one, I'm getting the same error for every Construct based EXE. I tried the demo's on the site too, no luck.
B
1
G
5
Posts: 1
Reputation: 1,227

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests