Save Layout State Feature

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 8:08 am

I was wondering if there is anyway to create a "save layout state" feature in C2. What I mean is, in the game like if you clicked a button and the conditon was "if button clicked" and the action was "save layout state" and when you loaded the layout in the game, the positons of objects, opacities, ect. was the same as when you saved. Or something similar.
B
5
S
3
G
4
Posts: 189
Reputation: 2,910

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 8:54 am

We're planning a feature like this - might be a while before we reach it though, lots of other features to do first!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,590

Post » Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:11 am

Thanks for replaying! When I saw that someone replyed, I was fearing for the worst, but I got right the opposite of what I was expecting.
B
5
S
3
G
4
Posts: 189
Reputation: 2,910

Post » Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:22 pm

Are there any ETA on this feature?
B
40
S
10
G
2
Posts: 1,151
Reputation: 6,501

Post » Sun Jun 23, 2013 10:23 pm

This is in, check System->Save and System->Load.
Moderator
B
72
S
13
G
11
Posts: 900
Reputation: 11,783

Post » Mon Jun 24, 2013 3:19 am

Unless im missing something, i dont think its the same feature, as that one saves/load the full state of your program.

This one would save the state of an layout, so when you load it, it wouldn't change anything else. So you for instant could go back to an old layout. However the current feature could almost do it, if only you could turn on/off the "no save" behavior on demand.
B
40
S
10
G
2
Posts: 1,151
Reputation: 6,501

Post » Mon Jun 24, 2013 2:42 pm

This thread is 2 years old! Since it was posted we have fully implemented exactly what you are asking for - a full state save/load. See How to make savegames. You might also want to check out the Persist behavior.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,590

Post » Tue May 17, 2016 1:55 pm

I've just tried and it saves one layout. if you move to another and then return, the layout will return to default. It is possible I think... to make a save slot for every layout but global variables will be saved too so that'll create a huge mess.
B
21
S
8
G
1
Posts: 83
Reputation: 2,194

Post » Tue May 17, 2016 2:10 pm

As this was the post google took me too with a similar question- for anyone looking for this, look for the Persist behaviour.
B
21
S
8
G
1
Posts: 83
Reputation: 2,194


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests