Save Snapshot

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:31 pm

Was searching the forums, but can't find anything definitive....

I have a camera button in my game. When pressed, it takes a snapshot of the canvas. Where does that snapshot go? I want to be able to save the image to the hard drive. How can that be done?kenhes2013-01-29 17:32:31
B
19
S
3
G
2
Posts: 212
Reputation: 4,011

Post » Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:47 pm

The snapshot is saved in the "CanvasSnapshot" system variable as a data URI, you can use "Load image for URL" to display it in a new tab

System expressions

The user has to right-click > save as manually
Or you can try Pode's FileSaver, but it will only display the "save as" dialog in Chrome
B
20
S
5
G
8
Posts: 325
Reputation: 6,473

Post » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:22 am

@lemo

Is "Load image from URL" in the browser object..."open url in new window"? I tried this but when it's exported to windows 8 it prompts to look in the store for something to open the url.
B
19
S
3
G
2
Posts: 212
Reputation: 4,011

Post » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:59 am

@kenhes

Yes "open url in new window" is what I meant (sorry about the "load image from url" nonsense)
I'm doing something like that, which works in the browser
But I never exported anything to W8, so I can't tell anything about it
B
20
S
5
G
8
Posts: 325
Reputation: 6,473

Post » Wed Jan 30, 2013 6:22 am

@kenhes

Take a look at Filesaver Plugin by PodeSavvy0012013-01-30 06:23:24
B
56
S
20
G
13
Posts: 778
Reputation: 13,204

Post » Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:45 pm

@Savvy001 Yeah I saw that, but for saving to hard drive he says:

For the moment, you can save text file and HTML strings as html files.

No images yet.
B
19
S
3
G
2
Posts: 212
Reputation: 4,011

Post » Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:57 pm

If there was a way to simulate WinKey+Printscreen, that might be a way around it.

Otherwise, I'll have to tell the player to press those keys manually.
B
19
S
3
G
2
Posts: 212
Reputation: 4,011

Post » Tue Jun 11, 2013 4:49 pm

I have the same problem, I cant make snapshots in metro. Does anyone know a fix to this problem?
B
14
S
5
G
4
Posts: 107
Reputation: 4,758


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kagubro, Solomon, Yahoo [Bot] and 33 guests