Save Vram Memory ,Cut your sprites up

Post your own tutorials, guides and demos.

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:10 am

[quote="irbis":2r4v9xza]and yes, it has to be that big, and yes it must have 106 frames.[/quote:2r4v9xza]

No, it doesn't. What you are attempting to do is quite literally unreasonable.

Game designers (both professionals and indies) often have to sacrifice quality in order to fit within technical limitations. What you need to do is redesign your animation so that it won't choke your average video card. If you continue to think that you must make your animation that big, and with that many frames, then you will get nowhere.

Try to think of an alternate method, because what you're asking for simply can't be done the way you want to do it.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:40 am

[quote="newt":w4u0znev]Sorry, but that's way, way, way, way.... way out of the realms of whats possible.
What your describing is more like a cut scene, than an animation.[/quote:w4u0znev]

actualy not lol its just the effect from Cockpit view when you open the space tunnel.
and part of it is supposed to always play when you enter the cockpit while in tunnel.

[quote:w4u0znev]No, it doesn't. What you are attempting to do is quite literally unreasonable.

Game designers (both professionals and indies) often have to sacrifice quality in order to fit within technical limitations. What you need to do is redesign your animation so that it won't choke your average video card. If you continue to think that you must make your animation that big, and with that many frames, then you will get nowhere.

Try to think of an alternate method, because what you're asking for simply can't be done the way you want to do it.[/quote:w4u0znev]

excuse me but ive seen bazilions of games with bigger and smother animations then this and they used 1/10 of the ram i am using. so it is possible. my question is not "IF its possible" but "how".
and its not me who make the rules of logic - if you are siting ina cockpit, and you open a semi-dimensional space tunnel its onlu obvious that you (being a pilot) should see the tunnel opening and filling your whole field of view. how i am suppose to redesign that? You can see some type of warping/hyperjumping in most FPP spacesims. damn, even grandpa of spacesims Elite had something similiar.
its just a matter of technique used. I can imagine that this (the tunneling) can be setup much easier in 3d engine, but Construct is mostly 2d. so when i cant have 3d eviroment i can try to mimic it with images.

ever heard of a game called Starscape?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EhyuTYTsog0
check from 0:50 (that particles flying from off screen to the center).


damn how i am misssing a proper avi object plugin :| then i would just play the animation in the background instead of using Construct as slideshow.

see the exe
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/15566547/HS/tester.exe
ImageImageImageImage
B
26
S
7
G
7
Posts: 572
Reputation: 6,097

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:26 am

Just fake it? There is no need to use big animations or even movie clip for the tunnel effect. Creative use of layer or object effects and particles can accomplish the same. Maybe even with sprite displacement.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:32 am

[quote="Mipey":2c3hw7cn]Just fake it? There is no need to use big animations or even movie clip for the tunnel effect. Creative use of layer or object effects and particles can accomplish the same. Maybe even with sprite displacement.[/quote:2c3hw7cn]

that is true but.. i use outside program to generate such animation effect... i wouldnt know where to even start in order to make Construct generate such animation by himself. :(
ImageImageImageImage
B
26
S
7
G
7
Posts: 572
Reputation: 6,097

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:36 am

Hm, come to think of it, you could use 3D layout... randomly spawn some hundred stars at different Z-levels, then rapidly change view distance and blackout. Cheap trick. Try it in a new cap and see if you can work it in somehow... such as through layer inheritance.
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:39 am

[quote="Mipey":3s4pkly8]Hm, come to think of it, you could use 3D layout... randomly spawn some hundred stars at different Z-levels, then rapidly change view distance and blackout. Cheap trick. Try it in a new cap and see if you can work it in somehow... such as through layer inheritance.[/quote:3s4pkly8]

that can actualy work... thank you!
ill try to out :)
ImageImageImageImage
B
26
S
7
G
7
Posts: 572
Reputation: 6,097

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:44 am

[quote:3p4qob75]excuse me but ive seen bazilions of games with bigger and smother animations then this and they used 1/10 of the ram i am using.[/quote:3p4qob75]

Actually it was probably much, much less less than that.
As Mipey said, its not an animation you see in the utube.
Search the forums there's a couple particle warp examples out there.
Heck I think I did one with the path object.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
91
Posts: 7,358
Reputation: 67,271

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:55 am

[quote="irbis":2bpn8wot]ever heard of a game called Starscape?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EhyuTYTsog0
check from 0:50 (that particles flying from off screen to the center).[/quote:2bpn8wot]

I don't see any giant, 160 frame animations anywhere in this trailer.

That particle effect is made up of many copies of a couple different smaller smoke-puff sprites. They're being rotated, scaled, and faded. That's all. If that's what you're making, then you should do it the same way they're doing it.

If you look closely, the individual smoke pieces are not even animated. They're just one frame each.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:06 pm

No tool can make up for a lack of creativity. Most big animations or sprites aren't those at all, but something that looks good enough to be disguised as such. A large picture can really just be a bunch of objects animated WITHIN construct, and well if you make them in an outside program and can't do it construct, your out of luck, just as any game designer/programmer would be if they were working on a game. Its the best thing to do, and THE only thing to do thats reasonable
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 3:20 pm

And even the new 3d "HD" games use small textures most of the time.It all depends on how big your game will be , like the no of stages,Characters etc...Bigger isn't always better.
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141

PreviousNext

Return to Your tutorials & example files

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest