Scale a Tiled Background

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:24 am

Shall be nice if there was a option to scale the tiled background, most png's you can scale 200% and it still looks verry good, you save a lot of Vram and a lot of work to fill your levels :) , at least in my case, now I have to copy a few hunderd sprites for each level at scale 150% to 250%
while else I did the same with 50 tiled backgrounds :(

Forgot to tell that it was nice if you can rotate it to.

Hoply a good idea for C2, and..... nice to have in C1 as well :P
B
43
S
8
G
5
Posts: 110
Reputation: 3,605

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:30 am

These options are already there. The actions are called
Set image angle
Set image offset
Set image scale

https://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/ ... und_Object
The wiki isn't all that bad :wink:
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:57 am

Thanks Tulamide, did not think about to check to do it with events but it's not what I want.

If you build levels in the layout editor you wanna see what you get, why its posible with sprites and not with tiled backgrounds that easy?

Its a solution what you give here but if you dont see it right away when building a level in the layout editor......

I dont see me change the rotation of a tiled background in the event sheet every time and jump back in the layout editor to see how it works out.

But I just see it from my point of view, and maybe for others it works out, it all depends also what kinda game and levels you build I think.

Don't take it negatieve, I appreciate youre help and I have learned from it, but I wish it was working the way I can use it at the moment ;)
B
43
S
8
G
5
Posts: 110
Reputation: 3,605

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:15 am

You can always try something like this to check the results at runtime :

[quote:1h69pfbi][url:1h69pfbi]http://prawnsushi.free.fr/bazar/TBG.cap[/url:1h69pfbi][/quote:1h69pfbi]

Only works for power of 2 images though.
B
4
S
1
G
2
Posts: 91
Reputation: 1,057

Post » Thu Apr 21, 2011 5:19 pm

Thanks Prawnsushi, its a nice .cap example to learn from. ;)
B
43
S
8
G
5
Posts: 110
Reputation: 3,605

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2011 7:14 am

My pleasure :)

You can check the PVs values with the debugger. Once you like what you see, just set the values at start of layout.

And actually i made a little mistake : "on middle button down" should be 'on middle button clicked".

bleh.
B
4
S
1
G
2
Posts: 91
Reputation: 1,057

Post » Fri Apr 22, 2011 11:38 pm

Thanks again Prawnsushi ;)
B
43
S
8
G
5
Posts: 110
Reputation: 3,605

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:35 pm

Is it possible to lock a tiled background into place, say if it covers the whole screen?
B
72
S
25
G
9
Posts: 382
Reputation: 10,649

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:43 pm

[quote="Nickydude":17kd24g0]Is it possible to lock a tiled background into place, say if it covers the whole screen?[/quote:17kd24g0]
You can either lock the layer it's on (say it's the "BG" layer).

Or, you can right-click it and go to Lock Selected.
Check out my VGM on my soundcloud page!
Video-Game Music: E.C.2151
B
7
S
2
G
2
Posts: 193
Reputation: 1,561

Post » Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:51 pm

[quote:lrveyg9z]Or, you can right-click it and go to Lock Selected[/quote:lrveyg9z]

There is no 'Lock Selected' when right clicking on it, that's the first thing I tried. :)
B
72
S
25
G
9
Posts: 382
Reputation: 10,649

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests