Scirra Arcade - Why the limitations?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:26 am

I would like to get my free trial on Scirra Arcade - but why is it limited to 800px width and why is there no fullscreen option?

I think these two issues are keeping many good games away from Scirra Arcade. The 800px max width especially - that doesn't make any sense to me at all and it excludes my own game.lokesen2012-12-02 08:27:01
B
7
S
3
Posts: 109
Reputation: 1,645

Post » Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:18 am

It make sense to keep the global design of the website.
In that design, game canvas are supposed to be contained within the layout of the webpage.

If the canvas was wider than the actual available size, it could visually break the design.

The arcade is being worked on by @Tom anyway, at some point a new layout and less limitations should arrive.

The limitation preventing "many good games away" from the arcade, in my opinion, is the fact that you can't use third part plugins/behaviors, rather than the size of the game itself.Kyatric2012-12-02 09:19:10
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:49 pm

The arcade needs an overhaul, but we're just too busy to do it at the moment. Hopefully we'll renovate it in future.

You can go fullscreen from an Arcade game btw - just use the Browser object's 'request fullscreen' which now also works in the Arcade.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:04 am

[QUOTE=Kyatric] It make sense to keep the global design of the website.
In that design, game canvas are supposed to be contained within the layout of the webpage.

If the canvas was wider than the actual available size, it could visually break the design.

The arcade is being worked on by @Tom anyway, at some point a new layout and less limitations should arrive.

The limitation preventing "many good games away" from the arcade, in my opinion, is the fact that you can't use third part plugins/behaviors, rather than the size of the game itself.[/QUOTE]

Ok - my game is absolutely stuffed with plug-ins :D
B
7
S
3
Posts: 109
Reputation: 1,645

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:05 am

[QUOTE=Ashley] The arcade needs an overhaul, but we're just too busy to do it at the moment. Hopefully we'll renovate it in future.

You can go fullscreen from an Arcade game btw - just use the Browser object's 'request fullscreen' which now also works in the Arcade.[/QUOTE]

OK - thanks. Just learned that plug-ins doesn't work either and my game is stuffed with them :D
B
7
S
3
Posts: 109
Reputation: 1,645

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:33 am

It's worth noting that Kongregate only allow a smaller width than 800px, and other portals often have similar restrictions. Depending on how or if you're planning to monetize your games it can be a wise decision to ensure it works -- and works well -- within these width restrictions.
B
24
S
5
G
2
Posts: 104
Reputation: 3,136

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:28 am

@jbadams, I had no problem putting an 800px game on Kong.
B
90
S
30
G
24
Posts: 3,189
Reputation: 32,400

Post » Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:10 pm

This quick little workaround by dafoundah might be worth a try. I've not attempted it myself, but in theory it makes sense.
B
24
S
4
G
1
Posts: 244
Reputation: 3,462

Post » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:48 am

@sqiddster: they must have updated at some point, there used to be a limit of 700px width, with height unrestricted. Good to know!
B
24
S
5
G
2
Posts: 104
Reputation: 3,136


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lof and 0 guests