Scirra, Cropping images RUINs image poins etc!

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 4:59 pm

Hi everyone,

Sorry to be a drama queen. I love Construct2 beyone belief and think most of it is designed flawlessly.

It's just killing me that it seems I have to leave images with massive padding around them if I want image points or collision poly shapes to be outside the actual used pixel area of a Sprite image.

Am I missing something? To me, this is an insanely arbrirtay and horribly wastefull issue in an otherwise brilliant tool.

Please tell me I'm just doing something wrong. :(

Thanks,
Mike
B
45
S
8
G
4
Posts: 414
Reputation: 6,805

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 5:14 pm

I have no problem dealing with sprites using blank areas, instead of a problem, I prefer this way because when I import my GIFs, they are with huge blank areas around, where I draw some different frames using that areas.

Also, your animation points and collision areas can have the same relative origin, making easy "set to all animations" and avoiding bugs with collision masks with different sizes, changing then on the run time, putting your player inside wall, for example.

Another thing is about make points go out the frames, if it's your case, why you just don't make a math to track the desired point relatively to a central point?
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
19
G
12
Posts: 1,206
Reputation: 18,331

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 5:20 pm

I think we're talking about two differnt things. You do want to crop all your sprite frames when you're done to save texture space, memory, file-space, load-time etc right?

If so, you dont want this to RUIN half of your image points and collision shapes and ruin your game, right?

Is it me, or does cropping currently ruin the shape of collision polys and image points if they are outside the "safe area" where theres actually image.

B
45
S
8
G
4
Posts: 414
Reputation: 6,805

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 5:33 pm

[QUOTE=Brashmonkey] I think we're talking about two differnt things. You do want to crop all your sprite frames when you're done to save texture space, memory, file-space, load-time etc right?

If so, you dont want this to RUIN half of your image points and collision shapes and ruin your game, right?

Is it me, or does cropping currently ruin the shape of collision polys and image points if they are outside the "safe area" where theres actually image.

[/QUOTE]

About the issue of cropping inside the editor I really said nothing about, I just concerned about avoiding the issues it can make, and it make sense, one time you change the sprite size by cropping it and all the frame points and areas points are relatively to a origin:

[QUOTE=TELLES0808]
Also, your animation points and collision areas can have the same relative origin, making easy "set to all animations" and avoiding bugs with collision masks with different sizes, changing then on the run time, putting your player inside wall, for example.[/QUOTE]

I workaround these type of issues just editing the images directly, using software like Fireworks, who can do batch processes, and with C2 closed, then opening C2 again.

Sometimes some adjustments are necessary, but it work well.

Best luck and I hope a solution for your problem too.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
19
G
12
Posts: 1,206
Reputation: 18,331

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 5:40 pm

Again, I dont think you are understanding what I'm talking about.

So, you don't mind giant wasteful areas of blank space around each frame of each animation, hogging precious load-time and resources..hurting your frame rate etc?

Ideally Construct2 would have a project-wide "crop aLL frame images to remove unused space" option that users could use once when the game was finished in order to optimize WITHOUT ruining any image point locations OR collision shapes.

It is rediculuosly simple math to keep the correct position for image points and for collision shapes while cropping. That is no excuse.
B
45
S
8
G
4
Posts: 414
Reputation: 6,805

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:13 pm

are you talkin about having image points and origins outside the actual image? Thatd mean when you crop it of course its going to be outside the new area of the image and thats not valid no matter how you look at it. To have something like that outside of the actual area of the sprite of course your gonna have to have blank empty space around it
B
13
S
5
G
2
Posts: 306
Reputation: 3,262

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:15 pm

Says who, and for what reason? its just x,y coordinates, not pixels. There is NO reason it could ever be considered invalid.
B
45
S
8
G
4
Posts: 414
Reputation: 6,805

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:18 pm

@Brashmonkey - if you are using r100 then yes. that was mention in the bugs area.
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:27 pm

[QUOTE=TELLES0808] I have no problem dealing with sprites using blank areas, instead of a problem, I prefer this way because when I import my GIFs, they are with huge blank areas around, where I draw some different frames using that areas.[/QUOTE]

So for example you have animation of a bouncing ball.
Ball size is 32x32 but you will keep all your sprite animation frames on 512x512 with transparency around cause it makes your image point stay where it should be?
ImageImageImageImage
B
140
S
58
G
36
Posts: 2,547
Reputation: 31,170

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:33 pm

Thanks shinkan. Its great to hear that its a known bug. I was quite worried that was an intended change, which would have been a horrible idea.
B
45
S
8
G
4
Posts: 414
Reputation: 6,805

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Eisenhans and 15 guests