Score not displaying

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:18 pm

Hi everyone

I have created a working live-score for my game but now I downloaded a new font and tried to make the score appear in it and it doesn't work.

I have tried it with multiple other fonts and it works with them. Even when it says that Construct 2 doesn't support them.

Does anybody know how I can make it work?
B
14
S
3
Posts: 50
Reputation: 907

Post » Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:35 pm

Is your text box large enough to display the selected font?
Mistakes were made.
B
52
S
26
G
108
Posts: 1,605
Reputation: 61,131

Post » Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:39 pm

If the font is too big it may not display. Try increasing the size of the text box. Especially with a score, you may want to make it really wide too depending on how high your score goes. So the text has room as the score goes up.

Say your Score variable is "Points" and your score text is called "ScoreBoard" Whenever you have the score change have an action that says Set "ScoreBoard" to points. When you type it in it should show a dropbox of items. Select your variable for the Score, in this example, "Points".

So score changes Set "ScoreBoard" to "Points" as in the variable for the score.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:52 pm

oosyrag wrote:Is your text box large enough to display the selected font?


It displays "Score:" but not the number. As soon as I change the fon. It works perfectly.
B
14
S
3
Posts: 50
Reputation: 907

Post » Sat Mar 25, 2017 5:57 pm

Phoenixbowman wrote:If the font is too big it may not display. Try increasing the size of the text box. Especially with a score, you may want to make it really wide too depending on how high your score goes. So the text has room as the score goes up.

Say your Score variable is "Points" and your score text is called "ScoreBoard" Whenever you have the score change have an action that says Set "ScoreBoard" to points. When you type it in it should show a dropbox of items. Select your variable for the Score, in this example, "Points".

So score changes Set "ScoreBoard" to "Points" as in the variable for the score.


I did this and it doesn't work. The weird thing is that the "Score:" text moves to the left after some time so the number is being generated but it's just invisible for some reason.

I made the textbox large and it still doesn't work.
B
14
S
3
Posts: 50
Reputation: 907

Post » Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:08 pm

We may have to see the code to know what's going on.
B
20
S
7
G
3
Posts: 302
Reputation: 3,634

Post » Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:43 pm

Phoenixbowman wrote:We may have to see the code to know what's going on.


What exactly do I have to show you?
B
14
S
3
Posts: 50
Reputation: 907

Post » Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:20 pm

This would be easiest if you uploaded a capx example with the issue isolated.

What font?
Mistakes were made.
B
52
S
26
G
108
Posts: 1,605
Reputation: 61,131

Post » Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:21 pm

oosyrag wrote:This would be easiest if you uploaded a capx example with the issue isolated.

What font?


Murder Block
B
14
S
3
Posts: 50
Reputation: 907

Post » Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:40 pm

http://www.dafont.com/murder-block.font

Your font doesn't have numbers.
Mistakes were made.
B
52
S
26
G
108
Posts: 1,605
Reputation: 61,131

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: vutankhoa2015 and 29 guests