Scoreboard and fix a glitch

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat May 18, 2013 4:37 am

How do I make a scoreboard in-game? Like in the arcade Donkey Kong:



And how do I fix the following problem?



The sprite gets destroyed, but the points and health actions don't take place. I put the points and health actions before the destroy action and after the destroy action: both times, they didn't occur.

nickkname2013-05-18 04:38:46
B
10
S
4
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,273

Post » Sat May 18, 2013 4:58 am

How are you checking to see if they update? If you are not refreshing a text box or something with the info, then it might not be showing an accurate number.

High score is pretty easy. I have a tutorial on doing an arcade style one, you can build off of it to do a top 10 or something. In fact, I might just do a tutorial on a top 10 local high score table.

Arcade Style High ScoresArcadEd2013-05-18 05:00:06
B
94
S
29
G
11
Posts: 1,545
Reputation: 20,993

Post » Sat May 18, 2013 5:34 am

[QUOTE=ArcadEd] How are you checking to see if they update? If you are not refreshing a text box or something with the info, then it might not be showing an accurate number.

High score is pretty easy. I have a tutorial on doing an arcade style one, you can build off of it to do a top 10 or something. In fact, I might just do a tutorial on a top 10 local high score table.

Arcade Style High Scores[/QUOTE]

Thanks for the tutorial!

I have the score and health on the screen, but they don't change. The health goes down when the hero dies and I used the exact same score and health as in Athlete, so I don't know what's wrong.nickkname2013-05-18 06:07:40
B
10
S
4
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,273

Post » Sat May 18, 2013 7:22 am

Here's the capx: game example
B
10
S
4
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,273

Post » Mon May 20, 2013 8:09 pm

Ok, you are setting your Text object to show the score on the Start of Layout. That only happens when the layout first starts. What you want to do is the add code to show the score in the text object either every tick, or when a score is updated.

B
94
S
29
G
11
Posts: 1,545
Reputation: 20,993

Post » Tue May 21, 2013 1:27 am

[QUOTE=ArcadEd] Ok, you are setting your Text object to show the score on the Start of Layout. That only happens when the layout first starts. What you want to do is the add code to show the score in the text object either every tick, or when a score is updated.

[/QUOTE]

Thanks!
B
10
S
4
G
3
Posts: 210
Reputation: 5,273


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: newt, Yahoo [Bot] and 25 guests