Screen flickers

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 3:26 pm

Problem Description
There's a topic related to this issue which describes the problem (viewtopic.php?f=146&t=181268).
Screen is sometimes flickering when there's an Audio action.

Video of the problem which I made some time ago: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m7hQElQKO0M

This bug occurs only in fullscreen with NWjs 0.14.x and higher.


Attach a Capx
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwT_0l ... sp=sharing
(There is another capx attached at the bottom of this post)

Description of Capx
I've added some background image so the flickering can be easily noticed. The capx itself is just a Audio->Play(tag) / Audio->Stop(tag) switch after each LMB click.

Steps to Reproduce Bug
  • Run the project in fullscreen
  • Keep clicking LMB untill you see flickering (usually it takes less than a minute of fast clicking to notice)

Observed Result
Screen flickers from time to time

Expected Result
Not to flicker

Affected Browsers
  • Chrome: (NO)
  • FireFox: (NO)
  • Internet Explorer: (NO)
  • NWjs version 0.14.x and higher: (YES)

Operating System and Service Pack
Tested on two machines:
== Machine 1
Windows 10
GPU: nVidia Geeforce GT 635m
CPU: Intel i7

== Machine 2
Windows 10
GPU: Intel(R) HD Graphics
CPU: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU N2840 @ 2.16 GHz

Construct 2 Version ID
r239 (this issue orruced in previous C2 versions as well)

EDIT
Here is fully automated CAPX: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwT_0lczDpc9UHNHdWJJYjF4bjA/view?usp=sharing
You just need to run it and wait.
Last edited by BackendFreak on Mon Nov 14, 2016 8:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.
ImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
68
Posts: 940
Reputation: 38,589

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:37 pm

At first I thought it was the inverted logic:
Image

Inverted, or negated doesn't always work as expected so I strongly suggest staying away from it.

But then I replicated the effect by hitting the windows button, so I don't think its audio related.
Image ImageImage
B
168
S
50
G
164
Posts: 8,228
Reputation: 105,575

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:50 pm

I could not reproduce, I though it had something to do with one of the NWjs processes but I somehow doubt it now.

Either way, I've noticed that one of the three processes is slowly but steadily increasing in memory use.
This might have an impact on low-end devices but I'm not sure, I will keep on trying to reproduce it on my end.

EDIT:
Do you guys use dual-screen setups or one single screen?
ImageImageImageImage
B
56
S
21
G
77
Posts: 636
Reputation: 43,961

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:57 pm

TheRealDannyyy wrote:I could not reproduce, I though it had something to do with one of the NWjs processes but I somehow doubt it now.

Either way, I've noticed that one of the three processes is slowly but steadily increasing in memory use.
This might have an impact on low-end devices but I'm not sure, I will keep on trying to reproduce it on my end.

EDIT:
Do you guys use dual-screen setups or one single screen?


Dual-screen here, but the second machine I tested it on was purely on the laptop so one screen.
ImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
68
Posts: 940
Reputation: 38,589

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 7:06 pm

BackendFreak wrote:
TheRealDannyyy wrote:I could not reproduce, I though it had something to do with one of the NWjs processes but I somehow doubt it now.

Either way, I've noticed that one of the three processes is slowly but steadily increasing in memory use.
This might have an impact on low-end devices but I'm not sure, I will keep on trying to reproduce it on my end.

EDIT:
Do you guys use dual-screen setups or one single screen?


Dual-screen here, but the second machine I tested it on was purely on the laptop so one screen.

Alright another possible issue out of the way.

Are you able to open the dev-tools and look inside the console for me? (NWjs plugin action > Execute on start of layout)
I'm using a nightly build and it doesn't work for me for some odd reason, this could possibly mean that the new version has fixed this issue.
Please share the content of the console, error/warning or whatever messages it lists you there. ;)
ImageImageImageImage
B
56
S
21
G
77
Posts: 636
Reputation: 43,961

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 7:24 pm

TheRealDannyyy wrote:Are you able to open the dev-tools and look inside the console for me? (NWjs plugin action > Execute on start of layout)
I'm using a nightly build and it doesn't work for me for some odd reason, this could possibly mean that the new version has fixed this issue.
Please share the content of the console, error/warning or whatever messages it lists you there. ;)


Just some initial info's on start. Nothing new in the console while it flickers.
Image
ImageImage
B
27
S
16
G
68
Posts: 940
Reputation: 38,589

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 7:30 pm

BackendFreak wrote:Just some initial info's on start. Nothing new in the console while it flickers.

It's a really weird issue, did someone test it on Win7 already?
I see a lot of Win10 setups but no Win7 tests except mine.
ImageImageImageImage
B
56
S
21
G
77
Posts: 636
Reputation: 43,961

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 9:11 pm

@BackendFreak If this gets fixed after this report you get a statue!
B
63
S
22
G
4
Posts: 357
Reputation: 6,503

Post » Fri Nov 04, 2016 10:06 pm

I did a test, I still use vista :(
but couldn't reproduce. I use r237 and nwjs 0.15 i think, and i get these errors:
Image
B
41
S
19
G
65
Posts: 1,085
Reputation: 37,842

Post » Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:18 pm

I'm not able to reproduce the flickering effect
tested with c2-216 nw12 (export win64) and c2-239 nw18.5 (export win64)
on I7-990X/24Gb/GTX970x1 same with GTX970x2 win7Pro-64b
on I7-4770K/16GB/GTX770x1 win7Pro-64b
Image Image
B
22
S
13
G
130
Posts: 869
Reputation: 67,816

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests