Screensavers?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:08 pm

Hey, is it possible to create screensavers with construct?
B
8
S
2
G
5
Posts: 744
Reputation: 3,288

Post » Tue Apr 08, 2008 4:17 pm

Not yet. Todo-listed.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:19 pm

Cant you just change the .exe to .scr and put it in the windows directory?
B
1
G
4
Posts: 2
Reputation: 1,029

Post » Thu Apr 17, 2008 4:10 pm

[quote="urbanmonk":19xuexwa]Cant you just change the .exe to .scr and put it in the windows directory?[/quote:19xuexwa]
Yeah, you can even put sprites in a .cap, export it as an .exe, and change it's extension to .png, so it will be an image :P
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 512
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Thu Apr 17, 2008 4:18 pm

He wasn't kidding; change an exported .exe to .scr and try it.

Edit, tested this a bit more
The following would need to be done:
- Make any key/mouse movement close it (manually doable)
- Ability to change strings like name/author
- Configuration dialog

But essentially they are just renamed .exe files.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu Apr 17, 2008 4:32 pm

*.scr = *.exe
Microsoft... you son of a bill.
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 719
Reputation: 2,938

Post » Thu Apr 17, 2008 4:57 pm

[quote="Rich":384cezfv]He wasn't kidding; change an exported .exe to .scr and try it.

Edit, tested this a bit more
The following would need to be done:
- Make any key/mouse movement close it (manually doable)
- Ability to change strings like name/author
- Configuration dialog

But essentially they are just renamed .exe files.[/quote:384cezfv]

Seriously? 0_0
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 512
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:46 pm

Yep. I made some screen savers back when I first started using Construct.

There isn't any real proper screen-saver support though, so the name will show up funny in your screen saver list, and you won't be able to make options. But it does work.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:00 pm

Well, if you change .exe to .scr, it will work. But there's the problem, if you select it from list it just turns it on!
B
2
S
1
G
5
Posts: 30
Reputation: 1,460

Post » Thu Apr 17, 2008 7:39 pm

You could probably use events to make it turn off when the mouse moves. :)
B
4
S
2
G
6
Posts: 161
Reputation: 2,597

Next

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests