Scroll the score text

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:58 am

Hello ,,

im making a platform game and so far so good , the hero of the game scroll the map when he moves .. the problem is that the score in the top of the screen doesn't follow the scroll..

My question is how can i make a scroll text (for the score) i used (system scroll to object -> the player ) but still don't work


HELLP :p
B
17
S
3
G
3
Posts: 86
Reputation: 2,795

Post » Thu Jun 28, 2012 9:10 am

If i understand well your score "seems" not move so going down when moving up and so on ...

If the score must stay in then top left corner of the screen you could use a special behaviour for this score text object call "anchor". Using this feature the text can "stick" to the top left corner of the window. You must also look and perhaps change the new object properties after adding this anchor behaviour to give more details how you want to anchor this score object in your game.

If you have a player sprite always centered on your screen you could also use a "pin" behavior to keep always the same X/Y distance between this sprite and your text. If you don't have a player object centered on the screen just create a invisible object for doing the same job !

In my Compan360 arcade project (see below) the top-left map , comments and comments background are "PIN" to a invisible object always centered on the screen ... this invisible centered object is also used to do the "scroll" job using the auto-scroll behaviour feature.
naelian2012-06-28 09:25:54
B
16
S
5
G
3
Posts: 298
Reputation: 5,240

Post » Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:33 am

to make the score always showing in the game you should make a new layer with parallax = 0,0 in the properties tab
B
45
S
15
G
6
Posts: 795
Reputation: 11,935

Post » Thu Jun 28, 2012 11:43 am

Yes @zsangerous it's probably the better way to do that it's true ;-p
B
16
S
5
G
3
Posts: 298
Reputation: 5,240

Post » Thu Jun 28, 2012 5:23 pm

Thanks !! i will try this
B
17
S
3
G
3
Posts: 86
Reputation: 2,795

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2014 12:46 pm

When I change the paralex on my HUD layer to 0, 0 it just makes my score disappear. It works fine (except its in a fixed position) before I change the paralex. What am i doing wrong? This exact method worked on my last game
B
3
Posts: 1
Reputation: 177

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:56 pm

You should put your score within the Window (dashed line), if that is not the case.

I had the same thing today. My player starts at the bottom of the layout, and when the game starts the layout will be shown from there. But my hud stayed beneath from what is visible when you play the game (the dashed line).

Hope that made sense. ;)
B
78
S
18
G
5
Posts: 175
Reputation: 7,391

Post » Tue Nov 25, 2014 2:26 pm

Try this demo score
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
206
S
27
G
13
Posts: 1,834
Reputation: 35,776

Post » Sun Mar 22, 2015 4:57 am

Robin Sommer wrote:You should put your score within the Window (dashed line), if that is not the case.

I had the same thing today. My player starts at the bottom of the layout, and when the game starts the layout will be shown from there. But my hud stayed beneath from what is visible when you play the game (the dashed line).

Hope that made sense. ;)


hi
what you mean by "dashed line" ?
i don't find it
B
31
S
7
G
1
Posts: 643
Reputation: 3,258

Post » Sun Mar 22, 2015 7:55 am

IF YOUR window size is the same as your layout size you will not see it

Window size
The size, in pixels, of the viewport in to the game. It is only used if Fullscreen in browser is Off. A dashed line indicating the window size appears in the Layout View.
B
42
S
17
G
2
Posts: 850
Reputation: 6,209

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests