scrolling camera / maths help

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • I want to scroll the screen to an object and have it slow to a halt when it reaches it's position, so i set the screen pos to a box, gave the box the ball movement behaviour then set it's speed to the distance between the box's xy and objects xy, but the speed stays constant.

Any help? Thanks.

• You need to "set speed to speed -/+ something." If you "set speed to (distance between stuff)" then it might not behave properly. Try "set speed to speed - (distance between stuff)"

• I don't think that will work because i never know how far away the camera and object is so it's speed might slow to 0 before reaching it, or overshoot.

I've uploaded my test.

press a key to move to the next object.

http://www.mediafire.com/?fuend10mejm

I'm still learning construct so maybe theres an easier way i havent discovered yet.

• I edited my post, sorry. I really need to read whole posts instead of just jumping to conclusions.

I'll try your .cap now...

• I've fiddled with it for a bit and I can't seem to get it to work the way you want. I'm assuming that you want the box to move faster the farther away from it's target it is? I can't seem to work out how to slow it down from an unknown speed and distance that way.

If I set your box to a constant speed each time I can get it to slow when it's within a certain range of the target, and stop on target, but it starts at the same speed no matter how far away the next target is. And unfortunately if two consecutive targets are very close (within 100 pixels) then the box will overshoot the second.

Sorry, I'm not that good at math. Maybe someone else can help you out.

• Ok fixed i just changed the "Distance(Box.XY,Sprite.XY)" to "Distance(Box.X,Box.Y,Sprite.X,Sprite.Y)"

http://www.mediafire.com/?fjib9tdytm9