Seamless Wrapping

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Tue Oct 13, 2009 6:42 pm

Thanks, however in that example the player moves indefinitely in a direction and would never encounter any of the objects he had already seen again, thus it is not 'wrapping' back around to the beginning.

Here is an updated diagram: [url:20gs1t7r]http://pub.gamingw.net/39880/wrapping_1.jpg[/url:20gs1t7r]

Imagine you have a cut a vertical strip from a 8.5x11" sheet of paper. You draw your level layout on that strip. Now, take that strip, fold it so that one of the shortest edges touches the opposite edge, and tape it. Now when you go through your level you rotate the ring in your hands, and when you get to one edge of the level you are simply back at the start.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 68
Reputation: 986

Post » Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:15 pm

well, if you wrap everything with the wrap behaviour except the player ,
and you move everything in opposite direction of the player then it would have that effect.

but i see the catch, hmm best bet is to try the wrap behaviour
B
2
G
3
Posts: 72
Reputation: 994

Post » Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:36 pm

Sounds more like you want the camera to move, not the background.
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
91
Posts: 7,358
Reputation: 67,271

Post » Tue Oct 13, 2009 7:45 pm

i guess he wants a level of 800 looped indefinetly , and have all the active or interactive objects looped with it
B
2
G
3
Posts: 72
Reputation: 994

Post » Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:19 pm

The level is 1600x600, the view will be 800x600.

[quote:1m7ih09l]Sounds more like you want the camera to move, not the background.[/quote:1m7ih09l]

Sorry, did I state otherwise?
B
2
G
3
Posts: 68
Reputation: 986

Post » Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:26 pm

Like this? [url:1gsiia1o]http://www.scirra.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=4817[/url:1gsiia1o]
B
79
S
24
G
54
Posts: 4,749
Reputation: 40,761

Post » Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:57 pm

Yes, that's exactly what I want. Thank you so much. I don't really have time to look at it thoroughly right now, but I'm assuming it can be made to fit any layout. I tried to stretch the layout to twice the width, but everything just ended up toppled on each other when I executed the game.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 68
Reputation: 986

Post » Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:12 pm

[url:1mfyqzh8]http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/666516/scrollerp.cap[/url:1mfyqzh8]
Image Image
B
161
S
48
G
91
Posts: 7,358
Reputation: 67,271

Post » Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:29 pm

rojos example should work if you have an object only based thing without alot of complicated object which rely on other objects (bone movement type stuff)

but if you run into trouble you could always do some trickery with a canvas instead moving it to one half and then the other pasting all objects on both passes, and that should work 100% like setting the scroll without being hacky and moving all objects around and wrapping them aswell.
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests