Selectable Characters

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2011 2:19 am

Hey folks,

I'm rather new here in the community but really enjoying getting my feet wet with the game making engine. I've encountered some really nice tutorials, and there have been a few things I haven't been able to find.

One of the first things I tried to do with the tools was to create a game where the user can press a button to switch between characters on screen. Since I didn't see any tutorials (sorry if I missed it) I thought I would share my solution in case it's useful to anyone.

Basically, the selected character is stored as a variable that's used for different things.

Hope it's useful to someone!

Controls: Shift to jump. Arrows to move. Q to switch between characters.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/13715766/multicharacter.capx
B
17
S
5
G
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 2,263

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2011 5:41 am

Hey thanks for the tip. Changing character like that can trigger cool gameplay idea

I looked at how you did it and it made me want to make my own.
It's just 4 events, and as long as there's no family system, it is easier to use if you want to add other gameplay logic like life/death system.
You don't need to do things 3 times for each character.

CharacterChanging.capx
Last edited by Yann on Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
60
S
22
G
14
Posts: 1,479
Reputation: 16,346

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2011 12:38 pm

Thanks for the kind words, and for elaborating on the idea :)

The main reason I had it partitioned that way, was to keep the logic easy to follow for what I have planned next.

Each of the 3 player characters is going to have a unique set of physics to apply when they activate.

(One can double jump, one can shoot, one can swim, and so on)

Thanks for adding to it!
B
17
S
5
G
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 2,263

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2011 12:59 pm

Pretty nice :)

this will come in handy :)

Dependable/co-op characters can be a lot a fun to play and a great way to create large set of obstacles to pass.
Thanks once again.
B
18
S
4
G
5
Posts: 149
Reputation: 4,498

Post » Sat Nov 05, 2011 1:27 pm

Ok RingtailCafe so your way is better until a family system (:
(or maybe you put all the behavior in the sprite and activate/deactive the one you want to use depending on th ID... should work :D)
B
60
S
22
G
14
Posts: 1,479
Reputation: 16,346

Post » Sun Nov 06, 2011 12:34 pm

Also a good way of handling it. :D

Like I said, I was mostly just sharing this to inspire folks, and trying to add to the documentation where there might be gaps.
B
17
S
5
G
2
Posts: 7
Reputation: 2,263

Post » Sun Jan 29, 2012 7:10 am

So i asked this very same question in my own thread yesterday, while all that time the answer was right here. *shakes head
B
54
S
7
G
8
Posts: 150
Reputation: 5,812


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mallorcaredes, ultrafop and 2 guests