Set a strict FPS

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:33 pm

Hello,

Is there any possibility to set a strict FPS for entire game? Game is running with 40 fps on my laptop, 30 fps on iPad, 16 fps on iPhone. So I want to set a strict 24 fps and get good result on most devices.

Thank you!
B
7
Posts: 36
Reputation: 628

Post » Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:50 pm

Make sure to use the correct expressions to make the game framerate independent and be sure to apply the performance tips.

There's no way to set the frame rate in C2, it will try and run at 60 fps everywhere it is played.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:05 pm

Yeap, thanks, I was surprised :)

"Note that Physics is an exception."

I my game I use only physics. All performance tips are already applied. So, any ideas?
B
7
Posts: 36
Reputation: 628

Post » Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:11 pm

Reduce the number of objects with the physic behavior, their size, their collision polygon (using bounding box or circle wherever it makes better sense).

Also have a look at the physic performance tips in the physics basics tutorial and check about the set stepping iterations / set stepping mode in Physics actions: Global settings.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:23 am

Cool! After using stepping mode all physics are like real with no slow motions. Thanks!
B
7
Posts: 36
Reputation: 628

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 3:45 am

[QUOTE=Kyatric]
There's no way to set the frame rate in C2, it will try and run at 60 fps everywhere it is played.[/QUOTE]

Are you sure? I don't see why it should be capped at 60. Many gamers use 120hz screens, so it would be cool if it could over 60 for them -- especially if that Hz becomes more popular in the future.
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:04 pm

Yeah, most browsers will try to v-sync the display, which most commonly is 60 Hz, but can be up to 120 Hz. That's also why you need to make the game framerate independent and not assume it runs at 60 fps, otherwise it will run twice as fast on some monitors!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests