"set cursor from sprite" doesn't work

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Jul 30, 2012 4:30 pm

I tried to change the cursor on my skin, put the action "set cursor from sprite <my sprite>" in event "start of layout" - does not work. I tried to put on the "always" - the same thing. What is wrong?
B
12
S
1
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,731

Post » Mon Jul 30, 2012 4:43 pm

Post your capx.

I've just id a quick try, in FF14 in a start of layout, the action DOES work.
Perhaps it is the browser you're trying your project in that doesn't support the action (I'm not sure at all about that), or maybe your texture has some issue.

Anyway, without a concrete capx to look at, no way to tell.Kyatric2012-07-30 16:44:01
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:14 pm

Here is the file. I made it specifically to show that it is not working.
B
12
S
1
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,731

Post » Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:21 pm

I don't speak russian and I can't seem to find how to download the file.
But I can assure you: it works (tested in Firefox 14 and Chrome 20)

Please try dropbox.

Also don't provide a zip, prefer "saving as one file" (capx)Kyatric2012-07-30 17:22:06
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:47 pm

in a project that I do, nothing still does not work, although the differences from your project, I did not see. once my project.HERE
B
12
S
1
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,731

Post » Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:06 pm

There's something wrong with your texture.
Whenever I import a texture from a file it works as expected.

Did you draw the texture in C2 directly ?
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Mon Jul 30, 2012 7:23 pm

I do not paint the texture in the C2, I take the sprites of the images in PNG format. problem with this?
B
12
S
1
Posts: 36
Reputation: 1,731

Post » Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:21 pm

I don't know.
In the absolute there is no problem with pngs, when I import one of mine in your project it works right away.

But your current texture does not seem to work as intended.
Maybe @Ashley could have an idea what's going wrong.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:57 pm

There are strict limitations on what kind of image can be used for a cursor.

1: it cannot be bigger than 128x128
2: it will not take in to account any properties (such as angle, opacity, being resized other than 1:1, any blend modes, etc etc). It will simply use what you see in the image editor as the cursor.
3: it won't work in Internet Explorer at all
4: it may not work on operating systems other than Windows

Since your image is bigger than 128x128 it fails to load. Resize it down in the image editor to something smaller and it works, at least on Windows 7 with Chrome or Firefox.Ashley2012-07-30 21:57:56
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Wed Oct 16, 2013 3:20 pm

Ahhhhhhh Thank you Ashley..That explains my problem also and saves me asking my question...I thought it was a bug and going to report it...For some odd reason if you use an entirely transparent PNG as the cursor Sprite If you try to use a Transparent PNG as the cursor sprite its just turns black and does not display the transparency at all...Nice to know thanks Ashley..
I ended up started using a single pixel sprite instead of a transparent PNG...Is there any chance we can get the transparency working.....it just displays as BLACK..NO transparency at all...
When in doubt..or you are lost in a Zombie apocalypse or someone is giving you a hard time..Remember one thing..... Read the Construct 2 Manual..it will save your life.:)
B
30
S
11
G
8
Posts: 313
Reputation: 7,360

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Unconnected and 30 guests