Setting "alarms?"

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Dec 31, 2009 9:16 am

Hey everyone, I'm new to Construct, and to game creation in general.

So I tried gamemaker, and I liked it. I messed around learning the basics, and created a game meant for learning purposes. I then decided to expand my horizons, and downloaded Construct.

I must say, Construct is awesome. I'm currently learning some basics via tutorials, but I've came across something I don't know how to do. I've been searching the forum, and I can't,for the life of me, figure out how to do what I want to do.

In gamemaker, there are events called alarms. One can set alarms to a certain duration, and when the alarm's duration expires, actions are carried out. Using this, you can do many things. One of the main things I used it for was delay between firing projectiles.

In gamamaker, I made an object with a variable "canshoot." On creation, canshoot was set to 1. When I pressed space, it checked to see if canshoot was set to 1, and if it was, it did the three following actions:
1.) create a projectile
2.) set canshoot to 0
3.) set an alarm to a certain duration

I then had an alarm event that would, when the set duration expired, set canshoot back to 1. This would allow me to shoot a projectile, be unable to shoot for the duration of the alarm while canshoot was at 0, and then be able to shoot again after the alarm duration expired. This kept a delay between each and every shot.

However, enough about gamemaker. This is a construct forum.

I can't figure out how to get the same results in construct. There doesn't seem to be an alarm event, or any object types related to time. I can't seem to find anything other than "every x milliseconds" which doesn't produce the same results. I just want to be able to set a timer for a length of time, and upon the time running out, have an action occur. How do I do this in construct?