Shadows light and fire

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Tue May 19, 2009 5:18 am

The issue is having that image makes it have the white overlay, I want it to be clear. What shaders? It was 1280x1024 that isn't a standard resolution? I have a M1730 (core2duo 2.5 GHz dual 9800M GT 17" monitor with 1900x1200 resolution), granted a bit more powerful than average but no where near cutting edge.

edit: Is it possible to lessen or eliminate the white fog look that image creates? Or does it have to be exactly like that to work?

edit2: Ah ok, yeah I meant to take the blurs off before hand, I was just trying different things trying to get that shadows to look right.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 16
Reputation: 882

Post » Tue May 19, 2009 6:17 am

A screen resolution of 1280x1024 will cause most graphics cards to process effects as though it were a texture of 2048x2048... which chokes my graphics card to death. I was getting about 4fps, yay.

Anyway, I run my desktop at 1280x1024, so having a window the size of my screen is a bit much :P. It would probably run a bit better at fullscreen, though. I didn't try. Then again, I suppose I'm not he target audience for your game.

One tip, though: your ground texture (and the bumpmap that goes with it) are twice the size that they need to be. The images are 512x512, but the repeating tile within the texture is only 256x256 in size. You can cut the image in half both in x and y and it will still tile normally, and save yourself 16 times the VRAM and four times the GPU processing time on your bumpmap. Just a heads up.

Oh, and putting 3 different blur shaders on a blank image isn't going to do anything but waste GPU time.

And if you want to make the light not so white-looking, try changing the color filter in the object properties to something more rosy-tan-ish colored to match the floor.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Tue May 19, 2009 6:34 am

Ah thanks, will start working on that. As I said I'm new to construct coming from game maker, not used to having to worry about how much system resources I'm using :P

If you like diablo then you would be the target audience. I'll work on cutting things down, the computer at school we would be demoing this on is garbage so I'm sure it wouldn't hurt.

edit: Where can I change the size of the ground texture and bumpmap? I only see the starting point X and Y and then the height and width I want it to cover.
B
2
G
3
Posts: 16
Reputation: 882

Post » Tue May 19, 2009 2:53 pm

[quote="SciTE":1qll185o]It was 1280x1024 that isn't a standard resolution? [/quote:1qll185o]
No
B
134
S
65
G
16
Posts: 1,765
Reputation: 19,188

Post » Tue May 19, 2009 7:14 pm

[quote:3j5p2c32]Higher than 1024768, 57%[/quote:3j5p2c32]

I think the majority if not all gamers would be in this bracket. I haven't seen a screen under 1280x1024 in years at LAN parties. The most common I see is 1680x1050. I guess it all comes down to who your target audience is. I'm not making this game for netbooks or ultraportable laptops :P
B
2
G
3
Posts: 16
Reputation: 882

Post » Wed May 20, 2009 5:40 pm

Ah I see what you mean, the texture was repeated inside the 512x512 image I was using. I cut it down to 256x256 in GIMP. I thought you meant that I had some setting wrong in construct lol
B
2
G
3
Posts: 16
Reputation: 882

Post » Wed May 20, 2009 7:10 pm

[quote="SciTE":vfsqq2y5]Ah I see what you mean, the texture was repeated inside the 512x512 image I was using. I cut it down to 256x256 in GIMP. I thought you meant that I had some setting wrong in construct lol[/quote:vfsqq2y5]


Yes, that's what I meant :P
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Previous

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests