Shaking Sprite

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:38 am

I'm making a platformer but every time my sprite walks over a certain other sprite, he starts shaking up and down. I have tried everything from changing the collision points to changing the origin to just about everything else. Is there a way to fix this?
I can post a .capx file if necessary.

Any help would greatly be appreciated!
B
3
Posts: 9
Reputation: 193

Post » Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:24 am

capx would help. otherwise, we're just guessing.
Don't lose your work. Backup your game with Dropbox.
B
44
S
10
G
10
Posts: 1,106
Reputation: 9,202

Post » Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:07 pm

Here is the .capx file (just add the www. in front of it):

dropbox.com/s/0putj5yqk22oo33/Wizard%20Game.capx

Also, does anybody know why the player sinks into the block a little bit on the top stair? It seems like the collision mask is messed up, but it is only on that one block, and it's exactly the same as the others.

Thanks in advance!
B
3
Posts: 9
Reputation: 193

Post » Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:16 pm

try removing the physics behaviour from wizard and ice blocks - appears to fix problem. Physics and other movement behaviours don't play nice together.
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Fri Feb 14, 2014 12:44 am

With the physics removed, is there still a way to allow the player to slide around when he comes in contact with the ice blocks?
B
3
Posts: 9
Reputation: 193

Post » Fri Feb 14, 2014 12:58 am

Nevermind, I figured it out

Does anybody know what's wrong with the top stair, in that it seems like it messes with the collision mask of the player?
B
3
Posts: 9
Reputation: 193

Post » Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:32 am

I tried your capx, removed the physics, and tested it out - and the top stair seemed to work fine for me...
B
98
S
34
G
20
Posts: 438
Reputation: 17,825

Post » Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:10 am

That is strange... Maybe it will resolve itself when I go to actually build the levels!
B
3
Posts: 9
Reputation: 193

Post » Fri Feb 14, 2014 8:15 am

Did you try removing physics ? (which would have taken you maybe a minute to test ?)

The sliding has nothing to do with physics:



Here is your game with physics removed.

Note no wobble, no problem with top step and still sliding ?


wizard game (with physics removed)RamPackWobble2014-02-14 08:16:01
August 2015 - I misplaced a lot of links - I will try to find backups and repost. If You find a post that interests please reply to post with @rampackwobble and I will get a nudge!

If you find my posts useful please consider donating something to a local charity or to the http://www.mndassociation.org/
B
64
S
34
G
47
Posts: 1,194
Reputation: 30,892

Post » Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:34 pm

Yes, I did remove the physics, which completely removed the wobble/shake on the player.
The issue with the top stair that I was referring to is this:
dropbox.com/s/fxvu2mtzpumnkqd/Wizard.png
It looks like the player sinks about a half of a pixel into the ice block, but only on the top stair. Is there any way to fix this?
B
3
Posts: 9
Reputation: 193

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: KefiRocK, Lordshiva1948, Syazanie Amirin, Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests