should I post these canvas issues to the bug tracker?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Thu Apr 30, 2009 1:52 am

first, if you rotate a canvas, and paste an object to it, it pastes it as if it were in the unrotated position when you did it
example
is this a bug?

also, canvas doesn't have normal private variables
it doesn't force them to be initiated, so you can choose any name at any time, like a hashtable, but it doesn't seem to work anyway. it crashed when I tried it. just making sure this isn't some intentional feature I just don't know how to use before I bug track it
Spriter Dev
B
96
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,259
Reputation: 16,819

Post » Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:23 pm

Crashes are never features! They're ALWAYS bugs! Report them via the tracker please! :)
Scirra Founder
B
382
S
223
G
86
Posts: 24,003
Reputation: 189,843

Post » Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:29 pm

I'll post it, I didn't mean the crash might be a feature
I meant the way canvas has private variables that are different from everything else
I thought that was a feature
Spriter Dev
B
96
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,259
Reputation: 16,819

Post » Fri May 01, 2009 10:54 am

No, they should be the same as on any other object.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Fri May 01, 2009 10:07 pm

what about the other issue, with the rotation?
Spriter Dev
B
96
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,259
Reputation: 16,819

Post » Sat May 02, 2009 9:20 am

I don't think it's a bug personally, though others may disagree. It pastes the object's current texture in, not taking into account other factors like angle. I think a separate option to paste it with options would be a better idea.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Sat May 02, 2009 7:13 pm

its not a bug, but it is a problem. i was about to report it before i saw this thread.

the math to fix it shouldn't be that complex, but i do feel the canvas should do it automatically, since it would be what you expect.
B
67
S
11
G
8
Posts: 1,966
Reputation: 9,429

Post » Sat May 02, 2009 9:48 pm

[quote="Rich":3n2b4pii]I don't think it's a bug personally, though others may disagree. It pastes the object's current texture in, not taking into account other factors like angle. I think a separate option to paste it with options would be a better idea.[/quote:3n2b4pii]

yeah, that would be a better idea, I think both ways could have their uses
Spriter Dev
B
96
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,259
Reputation: 16,819

Post » Sun May 03, 2009 3:21 pm

This would be a very intuitive feature. It's strange that when you paste an object into a rotated canvas, it pastes it without taking into account rotation. IMO the simple "canvas- paste object" should do this automatically. I don't really see the point of it not taking into account rotation. Maybe have a separate action: "canvas- paste object(no rotation)"?
B
33
S
5
G
8
Posts: 1,210
Reputation: 7,046


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests