Signalling Server

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:03 pm

Hello there,

@Ashley

Just read the half of MP-Tutorial. The following question arises:

Will it be possible to use own signalling server? Do you guys give access to your signalling server sources, so it could be run on the own server? What server technology do you use? May be node.js?
B
45
S
11
G
4
Posts: 517
Reputation: 7,398

Post » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:05 pm

Right now we're focusing on completing the engineering work. We will be considering custom-hosted infrastructure later down the line but don't have any clear plans right now.
Scirra Founder
B
403
S
238
G
89
Posts: 24,654
Reputation: 196,145

Post » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:18 pm

Sounds good.
B
45
S
11
G
4
Posts: 517
Reputation: 7,398

Post » Tue Mar 04, 2014 4:05 pm

That's a good question if Scirra will let us run their signalling server code on our hardware. However even if they don't you can write your own. The MP tutorial states that all we need ourselves is to pass an IP address. That means the MP plugin will let us set the IP address for connection. Honestly such a plugin would be near useless without such an ability :P
B
92
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,113

Post » Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:46 pm

Can we use Clay.IO's "Room" feature with this ?
B
84
S
24
G
14
Posts: 391
Reputation: 12,658


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests